Palestinian Art: Web and Reference Resources

A guide to art on the Internet.

Contains links for Palestinian Artist Mona Hatoum

Database providing access through group or item records to about 75% of the Division's holdings, as well as to some images found in other units of the Library of Congress. Many of the catalog records are accompanied by digital images--about 1.2 million digital images in all.

The Image Gallery includes over 210,500 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.

A non profit organization that aims to promote, instigate, disseminate and make art.

ArtSchool Palestine is a non-profit organisation founded in 2005. Established by a group of art professionals, curators and artists based in Palestine and London, it aims to function as a facilitating structure and base for the development and promotion of contemporary Palestinian art.

The Ethnographic and Art Museum at Birzeit University hosts two prestigious ethnographic collections: The Tawfiq Canaan Collection of Palestinian Amulets, and the Palestinian Costumes Collection. The Virtual Gallery allows you to explore at no charge the complete posted digital archive of these collections through photos and database information. The Museum also holds a growing collection of contemporary visual art.

Essays and Reviews by artist Samia A. Halaby

Liminal Spaces is an eight-month international art project which aims at refuting the realities of occupation and its dynamics by examining notions of urban spaces, borders, mental and physical segregation, cultural
territories and the possibilities of art within political frameworks. In lightof the ever-growing hardship endured by Palestinians under Israeli occupation; persistent loss of land, deprivation of freedom of mobility, as well as basic political and civil rights.

This web site is engaged in the activities of young Palestinian artists living in Palestine and all over the world. The web site is the Gateway for the Palestinian's Art work experience to show it to the world and to archive all the related activities in this field. The web site contains a directory for important Art websites and a historical illustration for local and Global art development.

An online resource for media art.

A Ramallah based non-profit non-governmental organization whose main aim is the protection and development of architectural heritage in Palestine.

The Khalil Sakakini Cultural Centre Foundation is a non-governmental, non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of arts and culture in Palestine. The Sakakini was founded in 1996, and is located in Ramallah in a restored traditional mansion.

The Sakakini works in three areas: The visual arts, Palestinian identity & narrative, and holding regular public activities such as: Art exhibits, concerts, literary events, film screenings, children's activities, & lectures.

An ongoing art and research project that explores militarization and political violence. It delves into the structural, symbolic, and affective dimensions of armed conflicts: the organization, representation, and materialization of war.

N6538.A73 O94 2008

N7277 .A55 2006

G1046.E1 O9 2004 Atlas

N7560 .E53 1998 Reference

Occupied Space 2008 was an exhibition of works by
artists from Palestine, the Arab world, China and the UK, organised by the UK Palestine Solidarity Campaign (PSC) in association with the A.M. Qattan Foundation.

NEGATIVE INCURSION - INTIMACY - IRRATIONAL - WALL

This section in the Virtual Gallery is designed to give opportunity to all viewers to partake in viewing exhibitions which otherwise and because of the siege and military blockade, they are unable to visit physically.

In Living Colour features a collection that covers a diverse group of artists from the Palestinian mosaic--from across the West Bank, Gaza Strip and inside the Green Line.