Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Second Life: Article Databases

Information about the multi-user virtual environment as well as to how it is being used in educational settings.

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed Journals or Scholarly Journals, are...

  • scholarly journals with articles that have been critically evaluated and approved by several scholars (expert peer-reviewers) before inclusion in a journal, not just by an editor.
  • reviewed by peers to assess the quality of the methodology, data, and conclusions presented.

Peer review lends credibility to the article because the process confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.


Verify that a journal is peer-reviewed with Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

ILL - Interlibrary Loan

Where to start:

Academic Search Premier Provides full text for over 6,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.

AnthroSource Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications

Communication and Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

Ebrary Academic Complete Academic Complete is a highly interactive eBook database from ebrary® that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 30,000 titles from more than 220 of the world’s leading academic, STM, and professional publishers. Note: you must first download and install the ebrary reader on your computer before accessing E-books.

ERIC ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe A full-text database of over 5,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services, business publications and company information along with basic legal and medical resources

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Ideal for those looking for pro and con arguments on a wide variety of contemporary social issues. Includes the opposing viewpoints series as well as links to reference materials, statistics, selected magazine and newspaper articles, images, primary documents, and Web sites.

WorldCat Bibliographic database containing over 1 billion records. Includes books, films, music scores, and many other types of materials. NOT a journal index.