Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Second Life: SL in the Literature

Information about the multi-user virtual environment as well as to how it is being used in educational settings.

Articles

References

 

An Island Full of Information in Second Life. (2008, December). Distance Education Report, Retrieved February 10, 2009, from Academic Search Premier database.

Antonello, R., Fernandes, S., Moreira, J., Cunha, P., Kamienski, C., & Sadok, D. (2009, February). Traffic analysis and synthetic models of second life. Multimedia Systems, 15(1), 33-47. Retrieved February 10, 2009, doi:10.1007/s00530-008-0125-1

Baker, S., Wentz, R., & Woods, M. (2009, January). Using Virtual Worlds in Education: Second Life® as an Educational Tool.  

Teaching of Psychology, 36(1), 59-64. Retrieved February 10, 2009, doi:10.1080/00986280802529079

Barack, L. (2009, January). Green Libraries Grow in SL. School Library Journal, 55(1), 12-13. Retrieved February 10, 2009, from Academic Search Premier database.

Bates, M. (2008, September). The Three-Dimensional Internet. EContent, pp. 52,52. Retrieved February 10, 2009, from Academic Search Premier database.

Bruck, L. (2008, October). Second Life: Test-Driving Real-World Innovations. H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, 82(10), 50-54.

Retrieved February 10, 2009, from Academic Search Premier database.

Cardale, A. (2008, Fall2008). Second Lives: A Journey Through Virtual Worlds. LLI Review, 3, 120-121. Retrieved February 10, 2009, from Academic Search Premier database.

Ferry, K., Gelfand, J., Peterman, D., & Tomren, H. (2008, December). Virtual Reality and Establishing a Presence in Second

Life: New Forms of Grey Literature?. Conference Papers: International Conference on Grey Literature, Retrieved February 10, 2009, from Academic Search Premier database.

Harrison, R. (2009, March). EXCAVATING SECOND LIFE: Cyber-Archaeologies, Heritage and Virtual Communities. Journal of  

Material Culture, 14(1), 75-106. Retrieved February 10, 2009, from Academic Search Premier database.

Hickey-Moody, A., & Wood, D. (2008, December). Virtually sustainable: Deleuze and desiring differenciation in Second Life. Continuum: Journal of Media & Cultural Studies, 22(6), 805-816. Retrieved February 10, 2009, doi:10.1080/10304310802452479

Kumar, S., Chhugani, J., Kim, C., Kim, D., Nguyen, A., Dubey, P., et al. (2008, September). Second Life and the New Generation of Virtual Worlds. Computer, 41(9), 46-53. Retrieved February 10, 2009, from Academic Search Premier database.

Thilmany, J. (2008, October). Real-Life Business in Second Life. Mechanical Engineering, 130(10), 64-64. Retrieved February 10,

2009, from Academic Search Premier database.