Copley Library Databases for Data & Statistics
- Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) This link opens in a new window
WRDS account required. The CRSP US Stock Databases contain daily and monthly market and corporate action data for securities with primary listings on the NYSE, NYSE Amex, NASDAQ, and Arca exchanges and include CRSP broad market indices. CRSP databases are characterized by their comprehensive corporate action information and highly accurate total return calculations.
Access to CRSP is available via the Wharton Research Data Services Platform (WRDS) and is limited to University of San Diego faculty, staff, master's and doctoral students. Users must apply for account access and be approved by the University of San Diego WRDS representative the first time they log in. For account access, please contact Jennifer Bidwell jbidwell@sandiego.edu or 619-260-2380.
- China Data Online This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development and census data at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels. Includes the following databases: (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer).
- Compustat This link opens in a new window
WRDS account required. Compustat provides fundamental and market data; comprehensive company financial data, extensive balance sheet, income statement, and detailed footnotes; thousands of data items, pre-calculated ratios and concepts, corporate actions and business descriptions. Compustat North American coverage includes over 28,000 active and inactive companies. History for active and inactive companies covers up to 20 years of annual data. Includes historical annual (back to 1950), and historical quarterly (back to 1962). Compustat Global Database provides comprehensive financial and market data on over 42,000 companies, both active and inactive non-U.S. and non-Canadian. Coverage includes publicly traded companies in more than 80 countries.
Access to Compustat is available via the Wharton Research Data Services Platform (WRDS) and is limited to University of San Diego faculty, staff, master's and doctoral students. Users must apply for account access and be approved by the University of San Diego WRDS representative the first time they log in. For account access, please contact Jennifer Bidwell jbidwell@sandiego.edu or 619-260-2380.
- Economist Intelligence - EIU This link opens in a new window
**Sometimes this link works only after the second or third try.** The Economist Intelligence Unit provides a constant flow of analysis and forecasts on more than 200 countries and eight key industries.Country analysis includes in-depth economic, political, business, and industry information. Trends, forecasts, market indicators, and more. Contains EIU Viewpoint and Country Commerce.
- Market Analysis Tools Portal This link opens in a new window
The Market Analysis Tools suite covers the world’s largest databases on trade statistics, tariff data, and rules of origin related to applicable free trade agreements. Additional tools offer export potential estimations, market price information, regional trade and investment data and much more. To register for an account, go to https://trademap.org and register for a personal account with your USD email account (@sandiego.edu).
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Includes information on 10 million business, including officers, addresses, sales, subsidiaries, branches. etc. Updated monthly.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer helps you gain deep insights into any location of interest through thousands of data variables and stunning visualizations, and reinforces your decisions with reliable data mapping capabilities. You can pick from maps that cover everything from 220 years of U.S. Census data, U.S. elections, crime, business, environmental, health, and religion data, even statistics for Europe and World Development Indicators.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com consolidates over 2.5 million data points on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. Our Market Outlooks provide market sizes, forecasts and other indicators for the digital economy, key consumer markets and relevant automotive markets for up to 50 countries. The Global Consumer Survey allows analyses of consumer behavior and media usage in the on- and offline world based on the data of 120,000 consumers from 28 countries, who were surveyed about 50 topics and 1400 brands.
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
WRDS is a platform that provides access to important databases in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. Currently the University of San Diego subscribes to COMPUSTAT, CRSP, I/B/E/S, and Eventus via WRDS. Access is limited to University of San Diego faculty, staff, master's and doctoral students. Users must apply for account access and be approved by the University of San Diego WRDS representative the first time they log in. Also, as of May 17, 2023, WRDS is requiring a multi-factor authentication via DUO for security purposes. For account access or questions about the multi-factor authentication, please contact Jennifer Bidwell at jbidwell@sandiego.edu or 619-260-2380.
