Research Guides: Scholarly Communication: Research Data Management

Introduction to Research Data Management

Research Data Management Toolkit
The Association of College & Research Libraries has compiled this toolkit with information and resources about research data management.

Readings and Bibliographies on Research Data Management
Background reading, bibliographies, US federal funding agency requirements, subject repositories, education tools, US data conferences, and where to go for advice.

Research Data Curation Bibliography
A comprehensive bibliography created by Charles W. Bailey, Jr. and licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Examples of Research Data Management plans

Example Data Management Plan: Biology (1)
Word Document, 18 KB
Example Data Management Plan: Biology (2)
Word Document, 38 KB
Example Data Management Plan: Chemistry
Word Document, 24 KB

Source: Lamar Soutter Library, University of Massachusetts Medical School. New England Collaborative Data Management Curriculum. Retrieved from http://library.umassmed.edu/necdmc

SPARC Roadmap for Action

The "Academic Community Control of Data Infrastructure -- A Roadmap for Action" offers a set of individual and collection action that institutions can consider taking to help ensure control of their data and data infrastructure. Recognizing there are no “one-size-fits-all” solutions to these complex issues, the roadmap offers a framework with multiple, concrete solutions that individual organizations can improve and adapt to their local culture and needs. The framework is divided into three main categories of action: risk mitigation, strategic choices, and community actions.

Build a Data Management Plan

Questionnaire to Help with the Creation of a Data Management Plan
This questionnaire designed by Sheridan Libraries at Johns Hopkins University outlines major considerations for data products, standards, management, preservation, and sharing.
Planning for Data Management
This condensed version of the Johns Hopkins University questionnaire distills the major questions to ask when planning for data management.
Data Curation Profile Worksheet
This worksheet guides you through important considerations when working with research data.

DMPTool
Use this tool to construct a data management plan that meets requirements for a number of public and private grant agencies.

Teach Data Management

New England Collaborative Data Management Curriculum

The New England Collaborative Data Management Curriculum contains a curriculum to teach data management skills to students and researchers in health sciences and STEM fields. The materials align with the National Science Foundation's data management plan recommendations.

Implement a Data Policy

OASPA (Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association) offers a guide to implementing a data policy for publishers here: https://oaspa.org/implementing-a-data-policy-a-how-to-guide-for-publishers/

Share Your Data

Repository Finder
re3data (https://www.re3data.org/) is a global registry of research data repositories.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is a global directory of Open Access repositories and their policies.
Discipline-Specific Data Repositories
This guide from the University of Iowa lists examples of discipline-specific data repositories.
Digital USD
Digital USD is the University of San Diego's institutional repository and provides an open access platform for USD faculty to share their research data.