Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scholarly Communication: Copley Library Services

Library Services for Scholarly Communication

The library offers a number of ways to help the USD community navigate the scholarly communication system:

Digital Initiatives Librarian

  • Assists in using Digital USD, USD's institutional repository, to post your work, launch an open access journal, host conference proceedings, perform archival research, and more
  • Consults on open access, author's rights, and copyright 
  • Provides workshops for faculty and students on topics related to scholarly publishing, open access, and Digital USD
  • Chairs the library's Scholarly Communication Committee, an advisory group charged with identifying and facilitating participation in digital initiatives projects and programs; encouraging engagement with the open access movement; recommending avenues for developing, sustaining, and promoting Digital USD; consulting on policies governing Digital USD; and providing a forum for discussion on open access collections, preservation, curation and services in support of scholarship.
  • Member of the library's Copyright Committee, committed to helping the USD community understand and use copyright regulations in their scholarship and teaching

Digital USD

Digital USD publishes, preserves, and provides open online access to the scholarship, creative work, original data sets, and archival material produced by or affiliated with the University of San Diego community. By curating and sharing these historical and current intellectual activities, Digital USD showcases and connects the unique contributions of the university’s faculty, staff, and students to an audience worldwide, fueling new research, discoveries, and knowledge.

OA Campus Conversation Cohort

A conversation series for faculty featuring readings, discussions, and presentations by experts.

Digital Initiatives Symposium

An annual event featuring keynote and feature speakers, lightning talks, and concurrent presentations -- all dedicated to examining the scholarly communication ecosystem, including advances in open access.

Access to External Memberships

  • Digital Commons Network - Open access academic research from top universities that utilize bepress’ institutional repository platform
  • SPARC - a global coalition committed to making Open the default for research and education
  • COAPI - brings together representatives from North American universities with established faculty open access policies and those in the process of developing such policies.
  • Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) - web portal that provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives.
  • Center for Research Libraries (CRL) - Over 65% of the primary source collections currently hosted by CRL are openly accessible worldwide, and plans with partner institutions call for expanding this.
  • Authors Alliance (trial)- a non-profit organization further the public interest in facilitating widespread access to works of authorship by assisting and representing authors who want to disseminate knowledge and products of the imagination broadly.
  • Institutional Open Access Program with MDPI (10% APC discount) - Researchers affiliated with participating universities benefit from a 10% discount on the Article Processing Charges (APC) for any paper published in an MDPI journal, while the institution incurs no fee for participating in the program.
  • Open Library of Humanities Library Partnership Subsidy (LPS) system - a charitable organization dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). Funded by an international consortium of libraries who have joined to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible, and rigorously preserved for the digital future.
  • Open Textbook Network (OTN) through SCELC - promotes access, affordability, and student success through the use of open textbooks.

Digital Initiatives Librarian

Profile Photo
Amanda Makula
Contact:
Copley Library

Archives, Special Collections, & Digital Initiatives

Camino Hall 205
x6850
Website