Recommended Databases
To locate resources, including scholarly/practitioner articles, use advanced search options to construct an initial search query using Boolean terms and keywords.
Example Academic Search Premier search 1: self directed learning AND training (~915 results)
Use the limiters and facets to increase the result relevancy or add a publication range (e.g., Pub dates of 2000-2024) or look for the desired terms in the subject or abstract fields.
Example Academic Search Premier search 2: AB self directed learning AND AB training (~340 results)
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online brings together over 2,700 journals, including the world’s largest program of Social Science and Humanities journals published by Routledge; cutting-edge theoretical and applied Science, Technology and Medicine content from Taylor & Francis; and CogentOA, a suite of broad-spectrum open access journals. Journals on this platform support open access and more traditional subscription routes to publication.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It provides cited reference searching, the unique ISI search and retrieval feature that lets users track the literature forward and backward.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 250 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.
Selected Scholarly Journals
Watch tutorial on how to conduct advanced searches in EBSCOHost multi-database platform.
ASSIGNMENT FOR LDT ORIENTATION STUDENTS
Now that you have reviewed how to use the USD Copley Library, begin researching a learning design technology topic that you are interested in. Here are some ideas to get you started, but feel free to choose a different topic you'd like to explore:
- Mobile Learning in Education or Training
- Designing eLearning/E-Learning for Education or Training
- Virtual or Augmented Reality in Education or Training
- Self-Directed Learning in Education or Training
Write a brief paper (approx 300 words) that describes how your knowledge or experience on the topic relates to the articles you found. If you don't have prior knowledge or experience on the topic, describe how you think the topic would be applied in a practical context and what you learned from your research.
Most of the assignments in your program will be graded using a rubric. A rubric is a scoring guide used to evaluate the quality of your work. Be sure to review the rubric before you submit any assignment to ensure you are meeting the assignment requirements.
- Asian Journal of Distance Education Covers research in the field of distance education in Asia and aims to elicit Asian local theoretical and practical solutions to address local concerns.
- British journal of educational technology Peer reviewed coverage of developments in educational technology world-wide. For academics and professionals in the fields of education, training and information technology.
- Campus Technology Monthly publication focusing exclusively on the use of technology across all areas of higher education.
- Canadian Journal of Learning and Technology Covers all aspects of educational technology & learning. Topics include learning theory & technology, cognition & technology, instructional design theory & application, computer applications in education, simulations & gaming, etc.
This link opens in a new window
- Computers & Education Concerned with research and development in and implementation of computer applications in education.
- Computers in Human Behavior Dedicated to examining the use of computers from a psychological perspective.
- Designs for Learning An international journal for a growing body of multidisciplinary research emerging at the intertwined fields of design and learning.
- This link opens in a new window
- Development and Learning in Organizations DLO is directed towards practitioners and academics in private, public and not-for-profit sectors. A mix of articles, review articles, interviews and book summaries provide leaders, managers and researchers with the most recent organizational developments.
- Digital Education Review Focuses on the impact of Information and Communication Technologies in education and new emergent forms of teaching and learning in digital environments.
- This link opens in a new window
- Distance Education Covers research relating to fields of open, flexible, and distance education and training.
- E-Learning and Digital Media E-Learning and Digital Media is a peer-reviewed international journal directed towards the study and research of e-learning in its diverse aspects: pedagogical, curricular, sociological, economic, philosophical and political.
- e-Learning and Education eleed is an international, scholarly, refereed open-access journal aiming at advancing trans-disciplinary knowledge in the field of e-learning. eleed is focusing on contributions unveiling new and proven insights into the interplay of e-learning technology and educational settings applied in academia, research, business, and industry.
- This link opens in a new window
- Educational Media International Covers the latest developments in educational & mass media, including educational technologies & open & distance learning.
- Educational Technology Research and Development Reviewed research primarily concerned with education technology; reviews and international reviews.
- EDUCAUSE review Deals mainly with information technology and the impact it has on higher education. Also included are articles from the corporate sector and the impact that their information technologies are having on higher education.
- This link opens in a new window
- eLearn Magazine eLearn Magazine engages a broad set of readers interested in digital learning at the intersection of research and practice. eLearn is where practice informs research and research informs practice. It provides a space for evidence-based conversations with practical implications for higher education, K-12, corporate, government, and not-for-profit contexts. Industry professionals can find the latest research and insights covering topics in design, development, new technologies, and management. The magazine focuses on elearning innovations, applications, and policy ideas that move the global conversation forward. As ACM's first online magazine, eLearn has been at the forefront of conversations around online education for the past 20 years.
- Electronic Journal of e-Learning Provides perspectives on topics relevant to the study, implementation and management of e-Learning initiatives.
- This link opens in a new window
- European Journal of Open, Distance, and E-Learning Presents scholarly work and information about open, distance & e-learning, education through multimedia, online learning and cooperation.
- International Journal of Advanced Corporate Learning Focuses on the exchange of relevant trends and research results and presents practical experiences gained while developing, designing and testing elements of advanced corporate learning
- International Journal of Designs for Learning
- This link opens in a new window
- International Journal of E-Learning & Distance Education
- This link opens in a new window
- The International Journal of Technologies in Learning Explores the role of technologies in learning and processes of learning about and through technologies.
- International Journal of Training & Development This multidisciplinary, international and comparative journal provides research, analysis and debate on the effective use of human resources and the growth of training and development in employees.
- International Journal on E-Learning Forum to facilitate the international exchange of information on the current research, development, & practice of e-learning with unique opportunities to enhance learning & teaching in corporate, government, healthcare, & higher education.
- International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning Purpose is to advance research theory & best practice in open & distance learning worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
- Internet and Higher Education The Internet and Higher Education is a quarterly journal devoted to addressing contemporary issues and future developments related to online learning, teaching, and administration on the Internet in post-secondary settings.
- Journal of Applied Learning Technology Covers issues, problems and applications of applied learning technologies in education, training and job performance.
- Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks Aim is to describe original work in asynchronous learning networks (ALN), including experimental results.
- Journal of Educational Computing Research Covers the design & implementation of computer hardware & software for use in educational & research environments.
- Journal of Educational Multimedia and Hypermedia Designed to provide a multi-disciplinary forum to present & discuss research, development and applications of multimedia and hypermedia in education.
- Journal of Educational Technology & Society Explores issues affecting educators & developers of educational systems, including artificial intelligence researchers.
- This link opens in a new window
- Journal of Educators Online Presents information for instructors, administrators, policy-makers, staff, students, and those interested in the development, delivery, and management of online courses in the Arts, Business, Education, Engineering, Medicine, and Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Journal of Interactive Learning Research Related to the underlying theory, design, implementation, effectiveness, & impact on education & training to many interactive learning environments.
- Journal of Learning Spaces
- This link opens in a new window
- Journal of Online Learning and Teaching Features papers on all aspects of online learning and teaching in higher education.
- Journal of Research in Innovative Teaching & Learning
- This link opens in a new window
- Journal of Technology and Teacher Education Covers preservice & inservice teacher education, graduate programs in areas such as curriculum & instruction, educational administration, staff development, instructional technology, & educational computing.
- New Horizons in Adult Education & Human Resource Development Promotes all aspects of practice & research that explore issues of individual, group, & organizational learning, wherever they may be located & focuses on current research & ideas in adult education, human resource development, & related fields.
- Online Journal of Distance Learning Administration Focuses on topics related to management of distance education programs.
- Open Learning: The Journal of Open, Distance and e-Learning Reports on the latest developments in distance & continuing education.
- Performance Improvement Addresses improving human performance through a wide range of techniques, including incentives and feedback, effective management, performance aids, organizational development, job design and instruction.
- Performance Improvement Quarterly Publishes articles on human performance technologies and the performance improvement field.
- Quarterly Review of Distance Education Publishes articles, research briefs, reviews, & editorials dealing with the theories, research, & practices of distance education.
- Research in Learning Technology Covers topics in research in learning technology, including innovations in learning technologies, technology use in teaching, cross-cultural technology-enhanced learning, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- Review of Educational Research Integrative reviews and interpretations of educational research literature on both substantive and methodological issues.
- Technology, Instruction, Cognition & Learning Includes structural process theories, design methodologies and research in artificial intelligence, and cognitive and cognitive developmental psychology.
- TechTrends: For Leaders in Education & Training Articles on all aspects of new technology in education and training in schools, colleges and private industry for members of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology.
- Theory and Research in Education Theory and Research in Education, formerly known as The School Field, is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes theoretical, empirical and conjectural papers contributing to the development of educational theory, policy and practice.
- Turkish Online Journal of Distance Education Contains articles focusing on the issues and challenges of providing theory, research and information services to global learners in any kind of distance education or open learning applications.
- This link opens in a new window
