Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Research Paper Basics: Finding Articles

This guide is designed to help history students successfully complete their next research paper assignment

Top Four Places to find Articles:

1. Our Databases: Limit our list of databases to the specific subject most relevant to your assignment and search each database using key words and concepts related to your topic. Note: most databases allow you to limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles using the advanced search tool.

2. Catalog Plus: Search our catalog using the "Catalog Plus" tab for a variety of resources on your topic including articles.

3. Google Scholar: Use Google Scholar to search the worldwide web for articles related to your topic. Be sure to set your Google Scholar preferences so that you can easily determine if Copley Library offers access to the articles you find.  For helpful tips on using Google Scholar including setting preferences, visit our Google Scholar Library Guide and watch the video below.

4. Inter-Library Loan Service: If Copley does not offer immediate access to the article you need through one of our databases, you may use our Inter-Library Loan Service to request a copy of the article.

Using Google Scholar

Visit Copley's Online Guide to Google Scholar for more information.

Using Ebsco Databases

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Merriam Webster defines peer-review as, "A Process by which a scholarly work (such as a paper or research proposal) is checked by a group of experts in the same field to make sure it meets the necessary standards before it is published or accepted".

Note: most databases allow you to limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles using the advanced search tool.

Use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to determine if the article you want to use comes from a peer-reviewed journal.