Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar allows you to search the web for a variety of written work from a variety of academic sources. You can set up the Scholar Preferences to show in your results when an item is available through USD; follow the Scholar Preferences link to the Library Links section on the page. When you access Google Scholar through the link below, that preference is already set.
ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan at Copley Library
Enter here to order articles.
Remember, the Circuit will allow you to retrieve books that are available for checkout from Circuit member institutions, but this does not include journal articles. Use ILLiad to request articles, and be sure to provide as much information about the article as possible.
Key Electronic Resources
PhilPapers Full Text Collection and Index
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Philosophers Information Center, this current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
PhilPapers.org "PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies." Create a free account to utilize all the features of this site.
Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences, including a backfile dating back to 1999. Journals can be browsed by title.
Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed Journals or Scholarly Journals, are...
- scholarly journals with articles that have been critically
evaluated and approved by several scholars (expert peer-reviewers)
before inclusion in a journal, not just by an editor.
- reviewed by peers to assess the quality of the methodology, data, and
Peer review lends credibility to the article because the process
confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.
Verify that a journal is peer-reviewed with Ulrich's Periodical Directory