Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Web Resources

Resources for the USD community interested in Philosophy.

Philosophy Audio Resources

 

BBC Radio4 In Our Time: Philosophy Archive

Philosophy Talk (Stanford University)

The Philosophy Podcast from LearnOutLoud.com offers audio renditions of classical philosophers

Librivox is a project offering audio for written works in the public domain.  Search by author or title to see what's available.

Need Help?

Web Resources for Philosophy

American Philosophical Association "The American Philosophical Association was founded in 1900 to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline."

American Philosophical Society "An eminent scholarly organization of international reputation, the American Philosophical Society promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources, and community outreach. This country's first learned society, the APS has played an important role in American cultural and intellectual life for over 250 years."

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy "From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research."

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy "The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet world-wide. The present staff of 25 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from the United States, Great Britain, and Australia. The submission and review process of articles is the same as that with printed philosophy journals, books and reference works."

Internet Philosophy Ontology Project 

The InPhO analyzes over 37 million words of philosophical content from the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, PhilPapers, and the HathiTrust and Google Books Collection.

Bartleby.com  'Great Books Online'. Offers a selection of reference works including the Columbia Encyclopedia (2000), Roget's Thesaurus, and Bullfinch's Mythology.

New York Public Library's Best of the Web: Philosophy

PhilPapers.org "PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies." Create a free account to utilize all the features of this site.

 

 

Resources for Primary Texts

Online Library of Liberty "The Library is where electronic versions of classic books about individual liberty are stored. These texts go back some 4,000 years and cover the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, war and peace. They are in a variety of formats - facsimile PDFs so scholars can view the original text, HTML for ease of searching and attractive layout, and text-based PDF EBooks for personal use. The Library also contains bibliographic information about the books as well as other "metadata" about the authors and editors."

Perseus Digital Library Perseus is a digital library of primary texts located in the Department of Classics at Tufts University.  Texts are presented in their original languages with English translations and full language morphology.  Collections include images of Greek and Roman art and architecture, a collection of 19th-century American texts, early modern English texts, the digitized text of the Richmond Times Dispatch, and texts in Greek, Latin, Germanic languages, and Arabic.