Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the catalog for reference resources
Reference resources are typically encyclopedias,
dictionaries, handbooks, almanacs, atlases, directories, etc. When you search the catalog for a reference
resources, try using your topic and one of these terms, such as [logic
The sources below are useful for getting started on the research process. The following links are for online reference sources.
Routledge Encylopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable and extensively cross-referenced dynamic Web version of the original encyclopedia. Includes more than 2000 articles covering Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
Addressing topics and figures such as Gothic Fiction and Arabic Philosophy, and WB Yeats, the collection has over 2,200 downloadable essays from 237 Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics (144 vol.) and Philosophy, Religion and Culture (93 vol.).
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital library containing high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offers access to millions of entries and contains all types of reference books including dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering science to Shakespeare.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online is a groundbreaking online resource, combining OUP's core scholarly books in four disciplines (Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion and Theology) and powerful research tools into one cross-indexed, fully searchable database. With 926 classic and newly published titles now available, OSO will be updated quarterly with an additional 200 titles added each year.
Reference sources for Philosophy are located in the Copley Library Reference Stacks as well as the Copley Library Book Stacks. Check the catalog for availability.
Below is a selection of general reference sources for the study of philosophy:
American philosophy : an encyclopedia Copley Library Book Stacks B850 .A43 2008
The biographical encyclopedia of Islamic philosophy Copley Library Reference Stacks B741 .B56 2006 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Chinese philosophy Copley Library Book Stacks B126 .E496 2003
The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy Copley Library Reference Stacks B41 .C35 1999
The Oxford handbook of contemporary philosophy Copley Library Book Stacks B790 .O94 2005