Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Finding Articles/Databases

Guide to Nursing Research and nursing resources at Copley.
  • Database searching is a skill that takes time & practice to learn. Trial & error are part of it.
  • Searching Google is instant and effortless, requiring no skill at all. Database searching is not googling.
  • Throw out your Google expectations of immediately finding exactly what you are looking for.

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.

Bates Visual Guide

Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text, provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

CCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care together with references to clinical trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration in MEDLINE and EMBASE. Contributors follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included. These controlled trials included were identified by the contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH)

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) is part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

Cochrane Methodology Register

The Cochrane Methodology Register is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions.

Evidence Based Medical Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED

This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Contains descriptions of instruments of use in assessing health and behavior. Includes questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales and tests. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Joanna Briggs Insititute EBP Database

JBI's evidence–based practice model is considered a benchmark in the healthcare industry — encouraging healthcare professionals to implement effective evidence–based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. JBI EBP Resources offer: Content and tools that will help your institution implement evidence–based practice; Systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, and more; Evidence to inform clinical practice — derived from JBI's Global Collaborating Centers in over 40 countries; Summarized research in a format that is easy to locate, understand and distribute to your staff; Tools designed to help EBP policy and practice manual development based on evidence; Critical appraisal skill development using a tool to guide you through the steps; And resources designed to help assess quality of research.

Ovid Online Databases

Access the complete listing of databases available through Ovid, including Journals@Ovid, Medline, and Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Medline Via Ovid

MEDLINE is the major database on human biology and health. It also provides excellent coverage of cell and molecular biology topics. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Provides a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. MMY contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. It provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, author, etc.

Natural Medicine: Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

PsycINFO

The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains nearly 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals.

PsycTESTS

PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to over 7000 psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

PubMed

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

Science

Provides the full text of the journal's news stories, research reports, and commentary articles in a searchable database, enhanced by additional information, links, multimedia, and user services, as well as a database of scientific-product information.

Up to Date

A clinical information resource created by a community of 3,000 expert clinicians that provides current answers to clinical questions. Over 8,500 topics are covered. Note: Off campus access is not available for this database.

Web of Science

Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It provides cited reference searching, the unique ISI search and retrieval feature that lets users track the literature forward and backward.

Time-saving Database Searching Tips

Video Playlist of Individual Instruction

Library Overview for Nursing Students

Linking Google Scholar to USD Library

Setting Up Journal Alerts

Hahn Faculty Guide

Quality articles - how can you tell

Nursing Librarian

Profile Photo
Karen OGrady
Contact:
Hahn School of Nursing
HSON 102C
University of San Diego
5998 Alcala Park
San Diego, CA 92110
415.900.9236