Nursing Librarian
Specific Nursing and Health Science Research Guides
This guide is an excellent starting point, but there are also more specific Nursing and Health Science guides for various programs or assignments:
Core Databases for Nursing
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text, provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Medline Via Ovid This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the major database on human biology and health. It also provides excellent coverage of cell and molecular biology topics. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Evidence Based Practice Databases
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) is part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- Evidence Based Medical Reviews This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the most trusted EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.
- JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window
JBI's evidence–based practice model is considered a benchmark in the healthcare industry — encouraging healthcare professionals to implement effective evidence–based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. JBI EBP Resources offer: Content and tools that will help your institution implement evidence–based practice; Systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, and more; Evidence to inform clinical practice — derived from JBI's Global Collaborating Centers in over 40 countries; Summarized research in a format that is easy to locate, understand and distribute to your staff; Tools designed to help EBP policy and practice manual development based on evidence; Critical appraisal skill development using a tool to guide you through the steps; And resources designed to help assess quality of research.
All USD Databases
The above is only a select list of USD databases most frequently used when reviewing the nursing literature. There could be times when other databases would be helpful - for example if you were looking for information about nursing malpractice, you might want to search the database 'Nexis Uni.'
Copley Library's Databases A-Z
Not sure which database is best for your topic? Ask a Librarian!
UpToDate
- Up to Date This link opens in a new window
A clinical information resource created by a community of 3,000 expert clinicians that provides current answers to clinical questions. Over 8,500 topics are covered.
A note about UpToDate: This is an excellent clinical resource, and it uses a high level of evidence to support clinical decision making. It gives a good overview of the best practices in care, and while it will refer to primary resources in the article reference lists, no articles in the database are original research. So if your professor has indicated that you need a nursing research article (or primary literature) the articles found here will not be that source (although you could still use information found in UpToDate in other sections of your paper).
Citing UpToDate, APA 7th edition reference:
Although not required for most APA references, UpToDate references must provide a retrieval date because the content changes over time while the URL remains the same.
|
Article Authors. (date). Article title. In. Editor (Ed.), UpToDate. Retrieved [date you accessed], from URL Williams, J., & Nieuwsma, J. (2016). Screening for depression in adults. In J. A. Melin (Ed.), UpToDate. Retrieved February 1, 2017, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/screening-for-depression-in-adults |
- In text: (Williams & Nieuwsma, 2016).
Additional Databases for Nursing and Allied Health Research
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It provides cited reference searching, the unique ISI search and retrieval feature that lets users track the literature forward and backward.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains nearly 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Contains descriptions of instruments of use in assessing health and behavior. Includes questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales and tests. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.