Research Guides: Nursing: Measurements and Tools Resources

Finding Tools and Measurements in the Library's Databases

Copley Library subscribes to the Journal of Nursing Measurement, a peer-reviewed journal publishing "information on instruments, tools, approaches, and procedures developed or utilized for measuring variables in nursing research, practice, and education." (JNM 2024, "About")

Nursing Databases for Measurements, Tests, Scales, Tools, Questionnaires

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) - Instruments of use in assessing health and behavior. Includes questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales and tests
Use the HaPI website to guide you on searching the HaPI database above
Mental Measurements Yearbook - provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
APA PsycTests - research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the tests.
In CINAHL use the Instrumentation field in Advanced Search

Searching PubMed for measurements:

MeSH terms - "Surveys and Questionnaires," "Psychological Tests" "Psychometrics" "Evaluation Studies As Topic" "Reproducibility of Results"

MeSH subheading - "Instrumentation" (ex. Nursing/instrumentation, Pain management/instrumentation, psychiatry/instrumentation)

Other terms - scale, survey, measurement, questionnaire, tool, assessment, test

It is always worth a try to email a librarian at the National Library of Medicine to ask for suggestions on accessing a tool or measurement.

Websites with Measurements

PROMIS PROMIS (Patient-reported Outcoms Measurement Information System) includes over 300 measures of physical, mental, and social health for use with the general population and with individuals living with chronic conditions.
Health Measures HealthMeasures consists of PROMIS, Neuro-QoL, ASCQ-Me, and NIH Toolbox. These four precise, flexible, and comprehensive measurement systems assess physical, mental, and social health, symptoms, well-being and life satisfaction; along with sensory, motor, and cognitive function.
PAR has several measurements for purchase
Psychological Assessment Scales & Measures
Neural-Qol Neuro-QoL measures quantify the physical, mental, and social effects experienced by adults and children living with neurological conditions.
NIH Cancer Institute Health Measures
NIH Group Evaluated Measures Group-Evaluated Measures (GEM) is a National Cancer Institute (NCI) database for researchers with information about behavioral, social science, and other scientific measures organized by associated constructs. Where possible, a copy of the measure or link to an external site for access to the measure is provided.
ePROVIDE Databases on Clinical Outcome Assessments - scales, measurements, questionnaires, tools
Health Measures Publication Checklist Please use this Publication Checklist when writing about HealthMeasures in publications and presentations. Checklist categories include measure details, administration, scoring, and reporting
Health Literacy Tool Shed The Health Literacy Tool Shed is an online database of health literacy measures. The site contains information about measures, including their psychometric properties, based on a review of the peer-reviewed literature
Sigma Repository Nursing Tools Measurements There may be costs and copyright considerations associated with the use of some tools. Tools referenced under a certain topic may be useful in other areas. These links direct you to outside resources not affiliated with Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) or the Sigma Repository. This list is for information purposes only.
Test Collection at ETS The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers.
Rand Health Surveys and Tools RAND's researchers and survey experts have developed numerous health-related surveys. Available for free in the public domain, these surveys are designed for a wide range of purposes, including assessing patients' health, screening for mental health conditions, and measuring quality of care and quality of life.
MDCalc MDCalc is the most broadly used medical reference for clinical decision tools and content used by millions of medical professionals globally, including more than 65% of US physicians, every month.
more...less...
Our evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. While primarily serving clinicians in North America, we have a growing presence globally, with users in over 200 countries and territories.
University of Buffalo SON Repository This cataloging / finding aid is intended to make measurement-related items accessible to others, primarily those in this Nursing School, for browsing, inspection, and determining feasibility in using the items in other research endeavors. This is a way to identify who has them and where the items are located. These items are not digitized due to copyright restrictions. Items may be browsed ON-SITE only.
LSU Instrument Repository Database Names of instruments and journal articles where they are referenced
California Health Interview Survey - UCLA Center for Health Policy Research Separate interviews are conducted for adults (age 18 and older), adolescents (age 12 through 17) and children (birth through 11 years of age). For children, we interview the parent or guardian in the household who is most knowledgeable about the child's health. Adolescents are interviewed directly about their health and behaviors, although their insurance information is collected from the adult.