Finding and Preserving Government Information and Data

Captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020.

Explore more than 928 billion web pages saved over time. Install the Official Wayback Machine Extension to easily save websites, view missing 404 Not Found pages, or read archived books and papers. Internet Archive.

Files in this repository were collected intermittently between 2024-11-19 and 2025-02-06. Beginning on 2025-02-06, the repository will be updated daily. Announcing the Data.gov Archive
Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab.

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Web Archive. Harvested by Library Services and Content Management (LSCM) and U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO). The FDLP was established by Congress in 1895 to provide free, permanent public access to federal government information. GPO administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the American people. To provide permanent public access to federal agency web content, the FDLP harvests selected U.S. Government web sites in their entirety. Access to these sites is made available through links in the online public access catalog, the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

Has archived a large number of government sites both independently and as one of the End of Term Archive partners. Webrecorder US Government Web Archive is web archiving with Browsertrix.

The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Serves as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. See what data is currently being saved with their new Data Rescue Tracker. Follow on Data Rescue Project - Bluesky Social.

DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. They have an older version of many major datasets, including some from the CDC. This is the main repository for Data Rescue Project's data with added data from FEMA, the Department of Education, and IMLS.

This search tool provides links for data that have been downloaded from federal, state, and local agencies. From the Boston University School of Public Health.

Maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an American political science and social science research consortium, based at the University of Michigan.

The IPUMS Center for Data Integration, based at the University of Minnesota, provides census and survey data from around the world. Find microdata from the U.S. Decennial Census, the American Community Survey (ACS), and the Current Population Survey. As part of their standard procedures, they download and preserve original data from U.S. statistical agencies that serve as the source data for IPUMS. Since Fri., Jan. 31, 2025, several organizations (and individuals) have downloaded many other public federal datasets. There are efforts underway to catalog and make these data available.

An open data publishing platform and a community committed to the open availability and routine re-use of all research data. Generalist repository available to help with data publication, storage, and preservation.

Has collected over 50,000 files (datasets and documentation) from 22 federal survey projects. Efforts to this point have been focused on acquiring the files and ensuring backup copies are preserved on multiple servers. Cornell University.

Gathers data, builds tools and collaborates with reporters to provide access to public records. Some projects have been archived by the Stanford Digital Repository, which ensures their long-term preservation.

A dynamic, open-source reference library for anyone using design, data, and technology to improve and enhance government service delivery.

An open dissemination research data repository for the preservation and making available of research, educational and informational content. Access to Zenodo’s content is open to all, for non-military purposes only. CERN.

An initiative to identify, obtain, reformat, clean, document, publish, and disseminate government datasets of public interest.

Provides a repository of hundreds of thousands of pages of original government materials, information on how to file FOIA requests and tools to make the requesting process easier. Fill out their form to suggest FOIAs based on missing data sets.

A reddit community that is coordinating efforts to rescue data.

Safeguarding Research & Culture (SRC) is creating an alternative infrastructure for archiving and disseminating of cultural heritage and scientific knowledge. Based out of Discourse.

An offloading point and information depot for a number of archiving projects, all related to saving websites or data that is in danger of being lost, including archiving the federal government. They maintain US Government data page.

An index of resources and archives related to data hoarding, web archival and self hosting. It was inspired by the recent purge of online information by government agencies, corporations and others, and aims to provide easier access to tools and information.

In response to political threats to social, environmental, health, and personal data, the University of Washington Center for Advances in Libraries, Museums, and Archives (CALMA) in collaboration with Seattle-based BKS Studio, is hosting a series of DATA RESCUE efforts.

For reference; many of the tools no longer are supported.