Finding Data and Statistics: Social Sciences

"Two osteometric data sets are currently made freely available to researchers and educators on the web site: the Goldman Osteometric Data Set and the William W. Howells Craniometric Data Set."

"D-PLACE, or the Database of Places, Language, Culture, and Environment, is an attempt to bring together the dispersed corpus of information describing human cultural diversity. It aims to make it easy for individuals to contrast their own cultural practices with those of other societies, and to consider the factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences."

"The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR’s use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data."

"The Digital Index of North American Archaeology (DINAA) aggregates archaeological and historical data sets developed over the past century from numerous sources, especially state and federal government agencies. DINAA provides public and research communities with a uniquely comprehensive window into human settlement across North America."

"The Journal of Open Archaeology Data (JOAD) features peer reviewed data papers describing archaeology datasets with high reuse potential. We work with a number of specialist and institutional data repositories to ensure that the associated data are professionally archived, preserved, and openly available."

"This database contains individual-based life history data that have been collected from wild primate populations by nine working group participants over a minimum of 19 years. The purpose of collecting data of this type is to make comparative analyses that can shed light on the population dynamics and the social and ecological adaptations that have shaped both human and nonhuman primate evolution. Records in the database include mortality and fertility schedules across multiple primate taxa."

"NADAC is a ready source of open-access research data on arts and culture in the United States. We provide data for use with statistical packages (SPSS, Stata, SAS, and R) and Excel, and for online analysis. Each dataset is accompanied by full documentation, such as codebooks, questionnaires, and user guides."

"AskCHIS™ and AskCHIS™ Neighborhood Edition are easy-to-use health data tools that give you access to authoritative health statistics on California's diverse population. These tools draw upon the responses of approximately 20,000 Californians interviewed each year by The California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) - the nation's largest state health survey."

"Obtain access to educational data, statistics, and information about California’s students and schools."

"This page contains demographic research and analysis extracted from the 1990, 2000, and 2010 Censuses, the American Community Survey, various years of the Current Population Survey, Annual Social and Economic Supplement, and migration (which describes movements within the same country or state) and immigration (which describes movements between countries)."

"The Vital Records Data and Statistics cover a wide variety of health topics suitable for community health assessments, research for government and private studies, and public inquiry."

"Open data is public data collected by the state through its routine business activities and published in a format that is easy to search, easy to download and easy to combine with other data sets from other sources; it does not include private or confidential data about individuals."

"Census, voting, registration, and geographic data sets for statewide elections beginning in 1992."

"Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN)."

"Primary source for US crime statistics. BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. It is one of the thirteen principal federal statistical agencies throughout the Executive Branch, agencies whose activities are predominantly focused on the collection, compilation, processing, or analysis of information for statistical purposes."

"Includes Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics are produced from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program."

"The SANDAG Criminal Justice Research Division is an essential source of information for local communities on public safety and public health, crime data, and crime-reduction strategies being implemented countywide."

"FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources."

"The NBER data collection here is an eclectic mix of public use economic, demographic, and enterprise data obtained over the years to satisfy the specific requests of NBER affiliated researchers for particular projects. There are also files created as the output of NBER projects and intended for wider use. Where allowed by the sources, we offer access to these files that may be useful to other researchers or in aid of replication studies."

"The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy. BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data."

"ERS research and analysis covers a broad range of economic and policy topics in: Agricultural Economy – Food and Nutrition – Food Safety – Global Markets and Trade – Resources and Environment – Rural Economy"

"Free and open access to global development data."

"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations."

"Obtain access to educational data, statistics, and information about California’s students and schools."

"The Education Data Explorer is the online download tool of the Education Data Portal. This initiative of the Urban Institute’s Center on Education Data and Policy draws on data from most major national data sources on schools, districts, and colleges, harmonizing variables and documentation to make it easier to look at trends and combine data."

"NOAA Climate.gov provides timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate science, adaptation, and mitigation."

"EIA has a lot of energy information. The information is disseminated in different ways, including reports, web products, press releases, data browsers, the API, and maps. EIA’s information is issued daily, weekly, monthly, annually, and periodically as needed or as requested."

"EPA provides access to environmental data through the following:
Environmental Dataset Gateway (EDG), Geospatial Applications, Registry of EPA Applications, Models, and Data Warehouses (READ), System of Registries (SoR)."

"The Americans’ Changing Lives study (ACL) is the longest, ongoing national study to clarify how our neighborhoods, work, and social connections affect our health throughout adulthood."

"AskCHIS™ and AskCHIS™ Neighborhood Edition are easy-to-use health data tools that give you access to authoritative health statistics on California's diverse population. These tools draw upon the responses of approximately 20,000 Californians interviewed each year by The California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) - the nation's largest state health survey."

"The Vital Records Data and Statistics cover a wide variety of health topics suitable for community health assessments, research for government and private studies, and public inquiry."

"The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues. NCHS compiles statistical information to help guide public health and health policy decisions."

"DSDR advances research on maternal and child health and the life course by making data discoverable and accessible for secondary analysis."

"Open Health Data features peer-reviewed data papers describing moderated or open access health datasets with high reuse potential. We are working with a number of specialist and institutional data repositories to ensure that the associated data are professionally archived, preserved, and available either through moderated or open access."

"The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage."

"Includes reports, visualizations, data analysis tools, and more."

"HUD provides interested researchers with access to the original datasets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population."

"This page contains demographic research and analysis extracted from the 1990, 2000, and 2010 Censuses, the American Community Survey, various years of the Current Population Survey, Annual Social and Economic Supplement, and migration (which describes movements within the same country or state) and immigration (which describes movements between countries)."

"Since the passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, the Office of Immigration Statistics has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components."

"The United Nations Global migration database is a comprehensive collection of empirical data on the number of international migrants by country of birth and citizenship, sex and age as enumerated by population censuses, population registers, nationally representative surveys and other official statistical sources from more than 200 countries and territories in the world."

"This directory contains datasets about citizenship, place of birth, nativity, and year of entry into the United States based on data from the American Community Survey (ACS) and Current Population Survey (CPS)."

"Data and statistics on immigration, emigration and remittance flows between countries."

"JOPD publishes data papers. These do not contain research results but rather a concise description of a dataset, and where to find it. Papers will only be accepted for datasets that authors agree to make available in a public repository."

"NIF maintains the largest searchable collection of neuroscience data, the largest catalog of biomedical resources, and the largest ontology for neuroscience on the web."

"With PsychData, the Leibniz Institute for Psychology (ZPID) has developed a data-sharing platform specialized for psychology research."

"The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) is a site where researchers can find data set files to conduct analyses, as long as they follow our Terms of Use. We also provide several tools that can help with analysis. The data sets are collected in several ways, and you can learn about our surveys in the Data Source section of this site."

"The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers."

"PRRI (Public Religion Research Institute) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to conducting independent research at the intersection of religion, culture, and public policy."

"The RLS surveys more than 35,000 Americans from all 50 states about their religious affiliations, beliefs and practices, and social and political views."

"Helping San Diegans get and use data."

"SANDAG creates and maintains a tremendous quantity of data about the San Diego region."

"This portal provides easy access to open data and information about your county government."

"This is the San Diego region's public platform for exploring and downloading open spatial data."

"The San Diego Regional Data Library ensures civic, social, governments and journalists in San Diego county have usable neighborhood level data they need to run their operations and tell their stories, so they can inform and influence grantors, decision makers and the public."

"Browse databases, surveys, reports and other statistical products created by BTS. Use BTS tools and apps to build your own statistical tables, graphics and maps."

"The Public Transportation Fact Book, published annually, contains national aggregate statistical data covering all aspects of the transit industry in the United States and Canada. Major sections include an overview of U.S. transit facts, transit finances and operating statistics by modes of travel, transit vehicle characteristics and deliveries, facts and numbers relating to federal grants and the Federal Transit Act."

"SANDAG collects and maintains a wide range of traffic and transit data to help transit analysts and transportation planners better understand the region's current and future transportation needs."

"The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making."

"These projects provide free individual-level time use data for research purposes. The data extract systems make it easy to create data sets containing time use and other variables a user needs."