Carrie Fry
Search for Articles
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text, provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Find the Evidence
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new windowCCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care together with references to clinical trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration in MEDLINE and EMBASE. Contributors follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included. These controlled trials included were identified by the contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
- JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window
JBI's evidence–based practice model is considered a benchmark in the healthcare industry — encouraging healthcare professionals to implement effective evidence–based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. JBI EBP Resources offer: Content and tools that will help your institution implement evidence–based practice; Systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, and more; Evidence to inform clinical practice — derived from JBI's Global Collaborating Centers in over 40 countries; Summarized research in a format that is easy to locate, understand and distribute to your staff; Tools designed to help EBP policy and practice manual development based on evidence; Critical appraisal skill development using a tool to guide you through the steps; And resources designed to help assess quality of research.
Diagnosis & Therapy
- Up to Date This link opens in a new window
A clinical information resource created by a community of 3,000 expert clinicians that provides current answers to clinical questions. Over 8,500 topics are covered.
- GeneReviews"an international point-of-care resource for busy clinicians, provides clinically relevant and medically actionable information for inherited conditions in a standardized journal-style format, covering diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling for patients and their families."
- Genetic Testing Registry"provides a central location for voluntary submission of genetic test information by providers. The scope includes the test's purpose, methodology, validity, evidence of the test's usefulness, and laboratory contacts and credentials. "
- Seattle Children's Clinical Standard Wrok Pathways and Tools"At Seattle Children’s, a clinical standard work (CSW) pathway is a documented approach to the management and treatment of a particular population or clinical condition. The aim is to improve quality of care through the standardization of management based on evidence in published medical literature and/or expert opinion"
- American Academy of Family Physicians Patient Care Clinical GuidanceAAFP clinical guidance resources. Evidence-based guidelines to support preventive services, clinical practice guidelines, and Choosing Wisely (a campaign to encourage conversation and reduce unnecessary or harmful treatments and tests).
Drug Information
- Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)"The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. "
Patient Education
- MedlinePlus: Trusted Health Information for Youeasy-to-read heath information available in multiple languages
- FamilyDoctor.orgmedical advice from the American Academy of Family Physicians
- UWMC Health Onlinea library of patient and family health education materials used at University of Washington Medical Center. Most of these materials have been authored by UW Medicine clinicians and staff.
Coding Tools
- MAGPIE: Map Assisted Generation of Procedure and Intervention Encodinginteractive tool to help users find SNOMED CT and ICD-10-PCS codes for medical procedures and interventions
Cross Cultural Topics
- Ethnomedsource for social and cultural details relevant to clinical care
- Mind the Gap: A Handbook of Clinical Signs in Black and Brown SkinA Clinical Handbook of Signs and Symptoms in Black and Brown Skin. The result of a project to highlight the lac of diversity in medical literature and education