Business Research Library Guide for Undergraduate Students: Business Databases from Copley Library

Founded in 1978, the goal has been to help professors, graduate students and researchers to publish their manuscripts in academic journals. To achieve this objective the company strives to maintain current contact information and websites for a large number of journals. Also, Cabell’s seeks to provide information on publication guidelines, type of review, number of external review, acceptance rate, ISSN, submission process, and more. (NOTE: USD has subscriptions to the Psychology, Business, and Educational directories.)

WRDS account required. The CRSP US Stock Databases contain daily and monthly market and corporate action data for securities with primary listings on the NYSE, NYSE Amex, NASDAQ, and Arca exchanges and include CRSP broad market indices. CRSP databases are characterized by their comprehensive corporate action information and highly accurate total return calculations. 

Access to CRSP is available via the Wharton Research Data Services Platform (WRDS) and is limited to University of San Diego faculty, staff, master's and doctoral students. Users must apply for account access and be approved by the University of San Diego WRDS representative the first time they log in. For account access, please contact Jennifer Bidwell jbidwell@sandiego.edu or 619-260-2380.

Provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development and census data at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels. Includes the following databases: (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer).

WRDS account required. Compustat provides fundamental and market data; comprehensive company financial data, extensive balance sheet, income statement, and detailed footnotes; thousands of data items, pre-calculated ratios and concepts, corporate actions and business descriptions. Compustat North American coverage includes over 28,000 active and inactive companies. History for active and inactive companies covers up to 20 years of annual data. Includes historical annual (back to 1950), and historical quarterly (back to 1962). Compustat Global Database provides comprehensive financial and market data on over 42,000 companies, both active and inactive non-U.S. and non-Canadian. Coverage includes publicly traded companies in more than 80 countries. 

Access to Compustat is available via the Wharton Research Data Services Platform (WRDS) and is limited to University of San Diego faculty, staff, master's and doctoral students. Users must apply for account access and be approved by the University of San Diego WRDS representative the first time they log in. For account access, please contact Jennifer Bidwell jbidwell@sandiego.edu or 619-260-2380.

ProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress. **Please note: When downloading a PDF, please use Firefox of Internet Explorer. You may receive a security warning. You can bypass the message by clicking on "Add Exception" or "Continue to this website." It is a trusted site.

**Sometimes this link works only after the second or third try.** The Economist Intelligence Unit provides a constant flow of analysis and forecasts on more than 200 countries and eight key industries.Country analysis includes in-depth economic, political, business, and industry information. Trends, forecasts, market indicators, and more. Contains EIU Viewpoint and Country Commerce.

Factiva includes the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal and over 8,000 other magazines, newspapers, and trade journals from a wide variety of disciplines.

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.

Provides the only locally compiled database of businesses for San Diego. Updated daily. For log in credentials, click more info. To access the database, you must be signed into your USDOne account.

includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

The Market Analysis Tools suite covers the world’s largest databases on trade statistics, tariff data, and rules of origin related to applicable free trade agreements. Additional tools offer export potential estimations, market price information, regional trade and investment data and much more. To register for an account, go to https://trademap.org and register for a personal account with your USD email account (@sandiego.edu).

Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.

Nexis Uni (formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic Universe) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Includes information on 10 million business, including officers, addresses, sales, subsidiaries, branches. etc. Updated monthly.

Includes Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports.

SAGE Business Cases (quick start guide) is a collection of authoritative cases studies that spans the globe, including all business types and the gamut of business and management topics. Instructors have access to teaching notes that can include PowerPoint presentations, learning objectives and discussion questions, and in‐depth case analyses.

The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences

Social Explorer helps you gain deep insights into any location of interest through thousands of data variables and stunning visualizations, and reinforces your decisions with reliable data mapping capabilities. You can pick from maps that cover everything from 220 years of U.S. Census data, U.S. elections, crime, business, environmental, health, and religion data, even statistics for Europe and World Development Indicators.

Includes access to over 1,500 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.

Taylor & Francis Online brings together over 2,700 journals, including the world’s largest program of Social Science and Humanities journals published by Routledge; cutting-edge theoretical and applied Science, Technology and Medicine content from Taylor & Francis; and CogentOA, a suite of broad-spectrum open access journals. Journals on this platform support open access and more traditional subscription routes to publication.

Provides publication information for magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, and other periodicals. Coverage is international in scope

Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It provides cited reference searching, the unique ISI search and retrieval feature that lets users track the literature forward and backward.

WRDS is a platform that provides access to important databases in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. Currently the University of San Diego subscribes to COMPUSTAT, CRSP, I/B/E/S, and Eventus via WRDS. Access is limited to University of San Diego faculty, staff, master's and doctoral students. Users must apply for account access and be approved by the University of San Diego WRDS representative the first time they log in. Also, as of May 17, 2023, WRDS is requiring a multi-factor authentication via DUO for security purposes. For account access or questions about the multi-factor authentication, please contact Jennifer Bidwell at jbidwell@sandiego.edu or 619-260-2380.

Includes access to over 250 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.