Research Guides: Online Master of Education: Finding Resources

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital library containing high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offers access to millions of entries and contains all types of reference books including dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering science to Shakespeare.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Provides publication information for magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, and other periodicals. Coverage is international in scope

Selected Scholarly Journals

Action Research Action Research is an international, interdisciplinary, peer reviewed, quarterly published refereed journal which is a forum for the development of the theory and practice of action research. The journal publishes quality articles on accounts of action research projects, explorations in the philosophy and methodology of action research, and considerations of the nature of quality in action research practice.
Curriculum and Teaching Dialogue Presents useful information & advice on different teaching methods & curriculum selection.
Journal of Social Studies Education Research Focuses on theories, methods and applications in Social Studies Education. Its purpose is to serve as a forum for social studies educators to present and discuss common concerns in local, national, global, international and transnational issues.
Mathematics Teaching Concerned with classroom approaches to mathematics teaching. Contains articles written by primary & secondary classroom teachers as well as advisors & other with links with mathematics education.
Race Equality Teaching Race Equality Teaching was the only practitioners’ journal devoted to race equality in education. For 36 years it led international debate and reported good practice in education and equality, responding to the political shifts and classroom practices that affect children’s educational opportunities.
The Reading Teacher Peer-reviewed, for those involved with literacy education up to age 12. Takes active stance on issues of education today.
Rural Special Education Quarterly Focuses on federal and national events relevant to rural individuals with disabilities, progressive service delivery systems, reviews of relevant conferences and publications, and resources for rural special educators.
Teaching Children Mathematics For teachers of mathematics education through the middle grades.
Educational Action Research Covers participatory research and action inquiry in education and across the professions.

Find Books at USD

Search our Catalog for books, videos, and other items.

If a book is not available at USD there are two options:

Circuit
This is a combined catalog for USD, SDSU, UCSD, CSU San Marcos and San Diego County Public Libraries. If you find the book you need in the Circuit you can simply make an online request and have the book delivered to USD.
Interlibrary Loan
If a book is not available through the Circuit, or if USD does not have access to a particular article, you can make an interlibrary loan request. ILLiad is the electronic system you use to request an item through Interlibrary Loan. To make a request, simply log in with your MySanDiego username and password.

Formulate a Search Strategy

Developing a search query

Your search query should be more specific than EDUCATION and less specific than "Flipping 1st Grade Mathematics Arithmetic Lesson for Visually Impaired Students in New York Public Schools"

Consider:

What is your topic? Search for your topic using key terms. STEAM Education
What aspect do you want to know about? Add an additional term to focus your search. Students with Disabilities
What time period, geographical region, or people group are you looking for? Consider adding additional search terms and use database limiters to narrow results.

Tips:

Do NOT type sentences in the database search box
Use concrete terms
The databases may use different terminology than your field
Experiment! There is not one perfect search

AND, OR, NOT

Boolean operators form the basis of mathematical sets and database logic.

They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results

The three basic boolean operators are: AND, OR, and NOT

AND

will narrow your results
tell the databases that ALL search terms must be in the results
example (Art Education) AND (Teaching Methods)

will broaden your results, telling the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the results
connect two or more similar terms (synonyms)
example Elementary OR Primary

NOT

exclude words from your search
narrow your search
(Elementary Education) NOT Kindergarten

Online Master of Education

Google Scholar

Make Google Scholar an even more powerful research discovery tool by linking it to USD. Creating this affiliation allows people searching in Google Scholar to easily obtain the full text of articles and other electronic materials licensed by Copley Library.

Recommended Databases

Selected Scholarly Journals

Find Books at USD

Formulate a Search Strategy

AND, OR, NOT