Research Guides: Leadership Studies: Finding Resources

Leadership Types and Theories

Microtraining Associates (Producer). (2013). Multicultural feminist leadership: Benefits for all. [Video/DVD] Microtraining Associates. Retrieved from https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/multicultural-feminist-leadership-benefits-for-all

Organizational Communication Channel. (2020, January 25). Autocratic Leadership Style. [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/b4VucyevSZ8

Organizational Communication Channel. (2020, February 3). Democratic Leadership Style. [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/d_oCEre1NJ0

Organizational Communication Channel. (2020, February 10). Laissex-Faire Leadership Style. [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/n-5q7GbYMPc

Richa Sharma (Producer). (2013). Mindful leadership: Communication skills. [Video/DVD] Futuremedia. Retrieved from https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/mindful-leadership-communication-skills

Tedx Talks (2017, June 5). An Indigenous Journey to Leadership: Eddy Robinson: TEDxStMaryCSSchool. [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/0xxg5pJdxUY

Recommended Journals

International Journal of Leadership Studies
Covers topics related to leadership from different perspectives unique to different cultures, settings, and religions around the world.
Journal of Leadership & Organizational Studies
Deals with all aspects of leadership & organizations. A forum for the expression of theory, research & practice, with special emphasis given to emerging, ideas, issues, trends & innovations.
Journal of Leadership Studies
Publishes leadership research and theoretical contributions that bridge the gap between scholarship and practice and that exemplify critical inquiry into contemporary organizational issues and paradigms.
Leadership Quarterly
Stresses theory and empirical research on effective leadership in all walks of life. Publishes scholarly research and developmental applications from fields of inquiry about leadership.
Stanford Social Innovation Review
Presents the best ideas in nonprofit management, philanthropy & corporate citizenship.

Educational Administration Quarterly: The Journal of Leadership for Effective & Equitable Organizations
Articles on education reform, governance and reform in colleges of education, and the professional preparation of educational administrators.
Educational Leadership
Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
Principal Leadership
Focuses on school leaders' needs, offering practical, hands-on strategies for improving schools in a constantly evolving educational environment.
Journal of Leadership Education
Provides a forum for the development of the knowledge base and professional practice of leadership education world-wide.
Leadership & Policy in Schools
Presents information for school administrators about educational leadership and educational policy.
Journal of School Leadership
Articles examining educational administration in its broadest sense, application of theory in educational administration, staff development programs, utilization of educational administration concepts, practical applications of concepts.

Social Justice
Social Justice is a quarterly peer-reviewed educational journal that seeks to inform theory and praxis on issues of equality and justice.
Studies in Social Justice
Publishes articles on issues dealing with the social, cultural, economic, political, and philosophical problems associated with the struggle for social justice.
Social Justice Research
Acts as an multidisciplinary forum for the publication of original papers that have broad implications for social scientists investigating the origins, structures, & consequences of justice in human affairs.
Journal of Education & Social Justice
The purpose of the Journal is to create opportunities for issues to be addressed, for enrichment programs to be documented, and to improve the quality of social justice and education in this country.
Journal of Social Justice

Journal of Catholic Education
The Journal of Catholic Education (formerly Catholic Education: A Journal of Inquiry and Practice), currently hosted by Loyola Marymount University, is an open access journal representing Catholic colleges and universities, Catholic education leaders, and scholars from a variety of disciplines who are collectively committed to contributing research and encouraging best practice in Catholic elementary, secondary, and higher education by advancing the field of Catholic educational research.
Journal of Catholic Higher Education
The Journal of Catholic Higher Education is the peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, semi-annual journal of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities. It is the only international journal dedicated solely to the distribution of scholarly work and commentary with a focus on contemporary Catholic higher education in the United States and around the world.
Christian Education Journal
Focuses on topics in religious education, including activities, theories and studies on the field.
Journal of Spiritual Formation & Soul Care
The Journal of Spiritual Formation & Soul Care is a peer-reviewed journal published twice a year. Its purpose is to advance the discussion of the theory and practice of Christian formation and soul care for the sake of the educational ministries of the church, Christian education, and other para-church organizations through scholarly publications that are rooted in biblical exegesis, systematic theology, the history of Christian spirituality, philosophical analysis, psychological theory/research, spiritual theology, and Christian experience.
Journal of Hindu Studies
About the Journal
The Journal of Hindu Studies is committed to a critical approach to Hindu Studies, focusing on themes that address overarching issues within the field, publishing the proceedings of research projects and conferences, and providing a forum for peer-reviewed articles.
Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs
Devoted to the investigation of politics, economics, education, history, literature, and sociology of Muslim minorities throughout the world.

Databases

Copley Library subscribes to many databases relevant to leadership studies scholarship and coursework.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ProQuest ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 30,000 titles from more than 220 of the world’s leading academic, STM, and professional publishers. Requires download and install of ebrary reader plugin.
Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from over 400 journals including: agricultural & biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics & molecular biology, chemistry, earth & planetary sciences, medicine, and social science.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from over 1,700 of the world’s leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 1,500 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.
World Languages Video Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection features language instruction titles for Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish as well as hundreds of supplemental titles on the culture, history, literature, and art of the countries where those languages are spoken. Many of the supplemental titles are presented in the native tongue, often with English subtitles—ideal for listening comprehension practice.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 250 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.

Leadership Studies

Recent Digital USD Works

Find Books at USD

Leadership Types and Theories

Recommended Journals

Databases