Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TESOL Streaming Media
In "I LEARN AMERICA," five resilient immigrant teenagers come together at the International High School at Lafayette and struggle to learn their new land.
The International High School is a New York City public school dedicated to serving newly arrived immigrant teenagers, with more than 300 students speaking two-dozen languages from 50 countries.
A new documentary about how a social justice organization based in Oakland, California--Asian Immigrant Women Advocates (AIWA)--focused on building the long-term collective leadership of limited-English speaking immigrants, and empowered women and youth to become powerful agents of social change.
Precious Knowledge reports from the frontlines of one of the most contentious battles in public education in recent memory, the fight over Mexican American studies programs in Arizona public schools. The film interweaves the stories of several students enrolled in the Mexican American Studies Program at Tucson High School with interviews with teachers, parents, school officials, and the lawmakers who wish to outlaw the classes.
ELT Journal is a quarterly publication for all those involved in English Language Teaching (ELT), whether as a second, additional, or foreign language, or as an international Lingua Franca. The Journal links the everyday concerns of practitioners with insights gained from relevant academic disciplines such as applied linguistics, education, psychology, and sociology.
Journal of Second Language Writing
The Journal of Second Language Writing is devoted to publishing theoretically grounded reports of research and discussions that represent a significant contribution to current understandings of central issues in second and foreign language writing and writing instruction.
Language Learning is a scientific journal dedicated to the understanding of language learning broadly defined. It publishes research articles that systematically apply methods of inquiry from disciplines including psychology, linguistics, cognitive science, educational inquiry, neuroscience, ethnography, sociolinguistics, sociology, and anthropology. It is concerned with fundamental theoretical issues in language learning such as child, second, and foreign language acquisition, language education, bilingualism, literacy, language representation in mind and brain, culture, cognition, pragmatics, and intergroup relations.
Modern Language Journal
The MLJ is an international refereed journal that is dedicated to promoting scholarly exchange among researchers and teachers of all modern foreign languages and English as a second language. The journal is particularly committed to publishing high quality work in non-English languages.
TESL-EJ: Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language
TESL-EJ began as the brainchild of a group of scholars who saw the need for a freely-distributed electronic academic journal. It has grown to become an internationally-recognized source of ESL and EFL information for people in scores of countries.
TESOL Journal (TJ) is a refereed, practitioner-oriented electronic journal based on current theory and research in the field of TESOL. TJ is a forum for second and foreign language educators at all levels to engage in the ways that research and theorizing can inform, shape, and ground teaching practices and perspectives. Articles enable an active and vibrant professional dialogue about research- and theory-based practices as well as practice-oriented theorizing and research.
TESOL Quarterly, a professional, refereed journal, was first published in 1967. The Quarterly encourages submission of previously unpublished articles on topics of signiﬁcance to individuals concerned with English language teaching and learning and standard English as a second dialect.
Journal of ELT Research (JER)
Journal of ELT Research (JER): The Academic Journal of Studies in English Language Teaching and Learning is a peer-reviewed academic journal of studies in English language teaching and learning published biannually in January and July. Given that the journal prioritizes research reports in ELT, viewpoint articles in the same field will be considered for publication. The scope includes the teaching and learning of English as a foreign or second language: teaching strategies, language curriculum, testing and assessment, linguistics and teaching, literature and teaching, ICT in language teaching, etc.
ELT Echo is published twice a year i.e on June and December by the Department of English Language Teaching, IAIN Syekh Nurjati Cirebon. It welcomes a wide range of topics in the area of English Language Teaching particulalry in English as Foreign Language (EFL) context, which the focus ranging from issues in second language acquisition, language teaching skills (listening-speaking-reading-writing), grammar (traditional and functional), core linguistics (phonology, morphosyntax, semantics) and macrolinguistics (pragmatics and discourse analysis).
ELT Forum: Journal of English Language Teaching
The aim of this Journal is to promote a principled approach to research on language and language-related concerns by encouraging inquiry into relationship between theoretical and practical studies.
The Language Learning Journal
The Language Learning Journal (LLJ) provides a forum for scholarly contributions on current aspects of foreign language and teaching. LLJ is an international, peer-reviewed journal that is intended for an international readership, including foreign language teachers, language teacher educators, researchers and policy makers. Contributions, in English, tend to assume a certain range of target languages.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC.
Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
Access to over 4,100,000 articles from Routledge and Taylor & Francis. Featured disciplines include Behavioral Science; Education; Business, Management & Economics; Media, Cultural & Communication Studies; Politics, International Relations & Area Studies; and Sociology & Related Disciplines.
Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 140 full-text monographs and books.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 250 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
TESOL Scholarship Highlights
Here's a list of TESOL scholars - even some at USD - to get you started. Google Scholar profiles linked when available.
TESOL Journal and TESOL Quarterly RSS FEED