Welcome
Occasionally, you may discover course texts available through Copley Library's print and ebook collections. The titles below are tagged for your convenience. Feel free to use them & other Copley resources to support your learning and research!
Disclaimer: Copley Library does not specifically purchase graduate course textbooks. These titles were selected to support SOLES teaching, research, and service efforts in accordance with Copley's collection development plans.
DTL Course Titles @ Copley
Case Studies in Building Equity Through Family Advocacy in Special Education by
You've read the history and the background, now meet the families! This companion book to Meeting Families Where They Are traces the advocacy journeys of 12 caregivers across a range of racial, ethnic, social, disability, economic, and family identities. The stories reflect the unique lives, histories, and needs of each family, as well as the different approaches they employ to meet the needs of their children. Caregivers indicate when they began to advocate; describe how they continue their efforts across schools, medical offices, therapies, communities, and virtual spaces; and discuss how they adapt to changing social and health climates and educational delivery modes. While highlighting gaps and challenges across multiple systems, this book also recognizes "what's working" with stories of true collaboration between practitioners and everyday people. This guidebook is essential reading for parent advocates, teachers, administrators, physicians, health care personnel, therapists, policymakers, and community members invested in creating a culture of respect, love and understanding. Book Features: Emphasizes how families have resisted the deficit-based view of their children while still utilizing systems of support. Incorporates the fields of special education and disability studies in education. Uses the framework of DisCrit to explore how disability and other social identities operate in tandem, examining concepts such as power, access, privilege, and barriers. Positions caregivers as experts in their children's lives, illustrating how they advocate for their children, teens, and young adults. Takes a deep dive into the nuances of generational, cultural, organizational, and geographical factors that impact how caregivers advocate. Resists approaches that typically involve professionals dictating what families need, centering instead on a collaborative model that includes families and professionals. Shares collective wisdom to assist parents who are new to the advocacy platform or are feeling discouraged with the process.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780807765357Publication Date: 2021-05-28
Better Than Carrots or Sticks by
ASCD Bestseller! Classroom management is traditionally a matter of encouraging good behavior and discouraging bad by doling out rewards and punishments. But studies show that when educators empower students to address and correct misbehavior among themselves, positive results are longer lasting and more wide reaching. In Better Than Carrots or Sticks, longtime educators and best-selling authors Dominique Smith, Douglas Fisher, and Nancy Frey provide a practical blueprint for creating a cooperative and respectful classroom climate in which students and teachers work through behavioral issues together. After a comprehensive overview of the roots of the restorative practices movement in schools, the authors explain how to Establish procedures and expectations for student behavior that encourage the development of positive interpersonal skills; Develop a nonconfrontational rapport with even the most challenging students; and Implement conflict resolution strategies that prioritize relationship building and mutual understanding over finger-pointing and retribution. Rewards and punishments may help to maintain order in the short term, but they're at best superficially effective and at worst counterproductive. This book will prepare teachers at all levels to ensure that their classrooms are welcoming, enriching, and constructive environments built on collective respect and focused on student achievement.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781416620648Publication Date: 2015-08-17
Confronting the Challenges of Participatory Culture by
Many teens today who use the Internet are actively involved in participatory cultures--joining online communities (Facebook, message boards, game clans), producing creative work in new forms (digital sampling, modding, fan videomaking, fan fiction), working in teams to complete tasks and develop new knowledge (as in Wikipedia), and shaping the flow of media (as in blogging or podcasting). A growing body of scholarship suggests potential benefits of these activities, including opportunities for peer-to-peer learning, development of skills useful in the modern workplace, and a more empowered conception of citizenship. Some argue that young people pick up these key skills and competencies on their own by interacting with popular culture; but the problems of unequal access, lack of media transparency, and the breakdown of traditional forms of socialization and professional training suggest a role for policy and pedagogical intervention. This report aims to shift the conversation about the "digital divide" from questions about access to technology to questions about access to opportunities for involvement in participatory culture and how to provide all young people with the chance to develop the cultural competencies and social skills needed. Fostering these skills, the authors argue, requires a systemic approach to media education; schools, afterschool programs, and parents all have distinctive roles to play. The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Reports on Digital Media and Learning
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780262258951Publication Date: 2009-06-05
Education, Equity, Economy: Crafting a New Intersection by
This volume will introduce the readers to an alternative nexus of education, equity and economy, pointing to economies and educations that promote a less stratified and exploitive world, and as the chapter authors demonstrate, this view has a wide range of applications, from technology, mathematics, to environmental catastrophes and indigenous cultures. This first volume in the new book series not only introduces the series itself, but also several authors whose chapters that appear here presage the in-depth analysis that will be offered by their volumes in the series. Education is invoked repeatedly in the 'class warfare' that pits the population against the elites as the investment that makes the difference, in terms of both policy and individual commitment, in the economy. The economy in this scenario is competitive, accumulative, exploitive and stratifying, implying education should mirror this and prepare people to fit this economy. However, education has other historic goals of developing common cultures, national identities, and civic engagement that belie this form of economic determinism. This volume and the series will explore this new nexus of economy and education with equity.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9783319216447Publication Date: 2015-11-17
Fundamentals of Qualitative Research by
This book is the road map to proficiency and development in the field of qualitative research. Borrowing from a wealth of experience teaching introductory qualitative research courses, author Kakali Bhattacharya lays out a dynamic program for learning different paradigms of inquiry, empowering students to recognize the convergence of popular research methodologies as well as the nuances and complexities that set each of them apart. Her book: supplements the readings and activities in a qualitative methods class, exposing students to the research process and the dominant types of qualitative research; introduces a variety of theoretical perspectives in qualitative research, including positivism and postpositivism, interpretivism, feminism, symbolic interactionism, phenomenology, hermeneutics, critical theory, and Critical Race Theory; identifies and summarizes the three dominant methodological approaches in qualitative research: narrative inquiry, grounded theory, and ethnography; provides interactive activities and exercises to help students crystallize their understanding of the different topics in each chapter.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781351865968Publication Date: 2017-03-16
The Responsible Methodologist by
Winner of The University of Alabama 2017 President's Faculty Research Award What does it mean to be a responsible methodologist? Certainly it is more than being a research middle-manager who ensures that the tools used in a thesis or dissertation are of the right gauge. In The Responsible Methodologist, leading education scholar Aaron Kuntz uses the latest movements in social theory to challenge qualitative researchers to reconceptualize their work away from the technocratic toward an intervention, an ethical disruption of the norm, an activist stance toward progressive social change. Inviting creativity and vision, he insists that the responsible methodologist become a force leading the discourse toward social justice. His book-challenges the technocratic role given to qualitative methodologists in university settings;-urges them to become a force for change through Foucault's parrhesia, risky truth-telling;-includes research projects that have incorporated this vision. http://amkuntz.people.ua.edu/
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781315417318Publication Date: 2016-06-03
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by
This invaluable manual from world-renowned expert Johnny Saldaña illuminates the process of qualitative coding and provides clear, insightful guidance for qualitative researchers at all levels. The fourth edition includes a range of updates that build upon the huge success of the previous editions: A structural reformat has increased accessibility; the 3 sections from the previous edition are now spread over 15 chapters for easier sectional reference There are two new first cycle coding methods join the 33 others in the collection: Metaphor Coding and Themeing the Data: Categorically Includes a brand new companion website with links to SAGE journal articles, sample transcripts, links to CAQDAS sites, student exercises, links to video and digital content Analytic software screenshots and academic references have been updated, alongside several new figures added throughout the manual It remains the only book that looks specifically at coding qualitative data, as a core but often neglected skill that researchers and students alike need to effectively make sense of their data and to identify patterns, before they can analyse the material. Saldana presents a range of coding options with advantages and disadvantages to help researchers to choose the most appropriate approach for their project, reinforcing their perspective with real world examples, used to show step-by-step processes and to demonstrate important skills.
Call Number: EDUC 610ISBN: 9781529731750Publication Date: 2021-03-31
- The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by
This invaluable manual from world-renowned expert Johnny Saldaña illuminates the process of qualitative coding and provides clear, insightful guidance for qualitative researchers at all levels. The fourth edition includes a range of updates that build upon the huge success of the previous editions: A structural reformat has increased accessibility; the 3 sections from the previous edition are now spread over 15 chapters for easier sectional reference There are two new first cycle coding methods join the 33 others in the collection: Metaphor Coding and Themeing the Data: Categorically Includes a brand new companion website with links to SAGE journal articles, sample transcripts, links to CAQDAS sites, student exercises, links to video and digital content Analytic software screenshots and academic references have been updated, alongside several new figures added throughout the manual It remains the only book that looks specifically at coding qualitative data, as a core but often neglected skill that researchers and students alike need to effectively make sense of their data and to identify patterns, before they can analyse the material. Saldana presents a range of coding options with advantages and disadvantages to help researchers to choose the most appropriate approach for their project, reinforcing their perspective with real world examples, used to show step-by-step processes and to demonstrate important skills.
Call Number: EDUC 610ISBN: 9781529731750Publication Date: 2021-03-31
- The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by
This invaluable manual from world-renowned expert Johnny Saldaña illuminates the process of qualitative coding and provides clear, insightful guidance for qualitative researchers at all levels. The fourth edition includes a range of updates that build upon the huge success of the previous editions: A structural reformat has increased accessibility; the 3 sections from the previous edition are now spread over 15 chapters for easier sectional reference There are two new first cycle coding methods join the 33 others in the collection: Metaphor Coding and Themeing the Data: Categorically Includes a brand new companion website with links to SAGE journal articles, sample transcripts, links to CAQDAS sites, student exercises, links to video and digital content Analytic software screenshots and academic references have been updated, alongside several new figures added throughout the manual It remains the only book that looks specifically at coding qualitative data, as a core but often neglected skill that researchers and students alike need to effectively make sense of their data and to identify patterns, before they can analyse the material. Saldana presents a range of coding options with advantages and disadvantages to help researchers to choose the most appropriate approach for their project, reinforcing their perspective with real world examples, used to show step-by-step processes and to demonstrate important skills.
Call Number: EDUC 610ISBN: 9781529731750Publication Date: 2021-03-31