Interlibrary Loan at Copley Library
enter here to order articles
Academic Search Premier - Provides full text for over 6,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online - (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
EconLit - the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1,010,900 records from 1969-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
Economist Intelligence Unit - provides a constant flow of analysis and forecasts on more than 200 countries and eight key industries. Country analysis includes in-depth economic, political, business, and industry information. Trends, forecasts, market indicators, and more.
Education Source - Developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
eHRAF World Cultures - is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
GreenFile - offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center - This database offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
JSTOR - offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Military & Government Collection - Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic Universe) - A full-text database of over 5,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services, business publications and company information along with basic legal and medical resources.
Oxford Scholarship Online - is a groundbreaking online resource, combining OUP's core scholarly books in four disciplines (Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion and Theology) and powerful research tools into one cross-indexed, fully searchable database. With 926 classic and newly published titles now available, OSO will be updated quarterly with an additional 200 titles added each year.
Peace Research Abstracts - PRA includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs and law, peace psychology, diplomacy, arms control, international organizations, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 245,000 records from important sources within the discipline, including Journal of Peace Research, Journal of Conflict Resolution, International Journal of Refugee Law, and others. Thirteen core journals are indexed and abstracted in their entirety (i.e. cover to cover). Selected articles from an additional 107 journal are also indexed and abstracted.
PsycINFO - database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains nearly 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in nearly 30 languages.
Public Affairs International Service (PAIS) - Indexes journals, books and book chapters in political science, international relations, and urban studies.
OTHER USEFUL DATABASES:
Ebook Central - Proquest (formerly ebrary Academic Complete) - Academic Complete is a highly interactive eBook database from ebrary® that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 30,000 titles from more than 220 of the world’s leading academic, STM, and professional publishers. Note: you must first download and install the ebrary reader on your computer before accessing E-books.
Ethnic Newswatch - News, culture, and history from over 240 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Both English and Spanish search interfaces are available.
Historical Abstracts - 1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. For US history, use America History and Life.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Ideal for those looking for pro and con arguments on a wide variety of contemporary social issues. Includes the opposing viewpoints series as well as links to reference materials, statistics, selected magazine and newspaper articles, images, primary documents, and Web sites.
Social Sciences Citation Index - provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. It also includes individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world’s leading science and technology journals. (Dates of coverage: 1997-present.)
SocINDEX with Full Text - the database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
WorldCat - Bibliographic database containing over 2 billion records. Includes books, films, music scores, and many other types of materials. NOT a journal index.
Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed Journals or Scholarly Journals, are...
Peer review lends credibility to the article because the process confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.
Verify that a journal is peer-reviewed with Ulrichsweb: Global Series Directory