Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why do you need to cite?
Not sure why you need to bother with citations? Plagiarism is stealing and is very serious. Read about it at Plagiarism.org
BibMe is a free automatic bibliography generator that supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formatting.
Citation Machine is an interactive web tool designed to assist high school, college, and university students, their teachers, and independent researchers in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
The Automatic Bibliography & Citation Maker.
ITS provides support for EndNote version X1 and above. Below you will find several help tools to answer most of your questions. If you need further assistance, please contact the ITS Help Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org or call (619) 260-7900.
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.
Parts of a citation
Each citation, no matter what type of source you are citing, will contain some information about what it is, who created it, and when it was created.
- Author(s) or Editor(s)
- Title (don't forget subtitles!)
- Edition (if there is more than one)
- Publication Date
- Place of Publication
- Title of Article(don't forget subtitles!)
- Title of Journal in which the article appears
- Publication Date
- Volume and Issue numbers
- Page numbers
- Author(s), Editor(s), or Organization responsible for content
- Title of website or article
- Creation, publication, or revision date
- Date accessed
- URL (if a persistent URL is available, use it)
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Copley Library has access to the Chicago Manual of Style online. The online guide includes access to the quick citation style notes, sample pages for formatting, and the basics of research and writing.You can find it in the Databases A-Z list.
Also take a look at Chicago's Turabian Guide online. Turabian is a simplified presentation of the Chicago Style, and includes great advice for writers at the undergraduate and graduate student levels. The online guide includes a quick guide to citations for the most commonly cited types of materials, but does not include all the great advice for writing and researching that the print manual includes. You can find the print manual in Copley, at the reference desk and on the shelves.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is another great source for quick, online access to citation information in Chicago Style.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide
- Print manuals can be found in several editions in the Reference sections of Copley Library and the Legal Research Center, at the Copley Library reference desk, in the Copley book stacks, and on permanent reserve at Copley Library. Check the catalog for availability.