Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical Studies: Reference Materials

Resources to assist students and faculty in the Classical Studies Minor

Search the catalog for reference resources

Reference resources are typically encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, almanacs, atlases, directories, etc.  When you search the catalog for a reference resources, try using your topic and one of these terms, such as [greece encyclopedia]. 

Need Help?

Electronic Reference Sources

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome This is an accessible guide and a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequentical world centuries.

Science in the ancient world: an encyclopedia catalogs the achievements and legacy of more than four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world of the Mediterranean and the Near East, from Academy to Xenophon, providing a complete overview of the physical, chemical, life, medical, and social sciences of the classical world.

Encyclopedia of classical philosophy presents articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity.

Brill's companion to Hellenistic epigram

 

Print Resources

Reference sources for Classical Studies are located in the Copley Library Reference Stacks as well as the Copley Library Book Stacks.  Check the catalog for availability. 

 

Below is a selection of general reference sources for the Classical Studies:

 

Oxford Classical Dictionary

Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world : Antiquity

Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world : Classical tradition

The Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture