Introduction to Tests and Measurements
"The theory and instruments of assessment can be considered the very foundation of clinical investigation, applied research, and program evaluation" (Groth-Marnat & Wright, "Introduction," pg. 4).
Tests in the social sciences fall into two categories:
- Published or commercially available tests are published by commercial test publishers. While you will be able to find reviews and descriptions of these tests - and sometimes sample items - the full tests are only available by direct purchase. Publishers often require purchasers to meet certain qualification standards or to receive training on test administration and scoring before permitting them to purchase certain tests. (See, for example, the Clinical Psychology Qualification Levels at Pearson Assessments.) The library does not collect commercial tests. While it is sometimes possible to obtain these measures through interlibrary services, students and faculty should usually contact test publishers directly.
- Unpublished or noncommercial tests are not published and sold by commercial test publishers. Instead, they usually appear in books or journal articles. (from "Finding Tests and Measurements: Definitions")
References
Groth-Marnat, G., & Wright, A. J. (2016). Handbook of psychological assessment. John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated.
Titles at Copley Library
Note: Some of these books contain actual test instruments.
Find more by searching for "psychological tests" in Copley's catalog.
Assessment in Counseling by
Now more user-friendly than ever, while continuing the legacy of excellence that Albert Hood and Richard Johnson began, the latest version of this best-selling text updates students and clinicians on the basic principles of psychological assessment, recent changes in assessment procedures, and the most widely used tests relevant to counseling practice today. Hays walks the reader through every stage of the assessment process and provides practical tools such as bolded key terminology; chapter pretests, summaries, and review questions; self-development and reflection activities; client case examples; practitioner perspectives illustrating assessment in action; and handy tip sheets. More than 100 assessment instruments examining intelligence, academic aptitude and achievement, career and life planning, personal interests and values, personality, and interpersonal relationships are described. Also discussed are specialized mental health assessments for substance abuse, depression, anxiety, anger, self-injury, eating disorders, suicide risk, and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. *Requests for digital versions from the ACA can be found on wiley.com. *To request print copies, please visit the ACA website here. *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119019268Publication Date: 2021-04-09
Assessment scales in old age psychiatryCall Number: RC473.P78 B876 2004Contains 137 full instruments.
Essentials of Psychological Tele-Assessment by
Discover a comprehensive and practical guide to the use of tele-assessments in psychological testing from two leading voices in psychology. Essentials of Psychological Tele-Assessment delivers a primer on the current state of professional knowledge related to psychological tele-assessment, ranging from the ethical and empirical considerations to the practical applications of tele-assessment procedures. The overarching framework encourages the balancing of the limitations of the current state of the research literature with the very real needs for assessment services to continue, even when in-person procedures are not feasible. This book includes discussion on a broad range of tests and measures, with information related to both the state of the empirical support for tele-tests and measures, with information related to both the state of the empirical support for tele-assessment utilizing them and the practical 'how-to' for administering, scoring and interpreting data that emerge from them. Additionally, frameworks for integrating the data that emerge from tele-assessment procedures are discussed. The book is applicable to those transitioning to tele-assessment practice and those training in a wide variety of training programs. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: Practical checklists and information about specific tests must be adapted to the realities of the tele-health environment. Information about how the results of tests should be interpreted differently to account for the tele-health environment. Case examples and studies to illustrate many of the challenges of working in tele-assessment Guidance on how to balance the limitations of the state of the empirical literature on the validity of tele-assessment with the real-world needs of clients. Perfect for psychologists and trainees in a variety of health services, including clinical, counseling, school and forensic psychology, Essentials of Psychological Tele-Assessment will also earn a place in the libraries of anyone utilizing or training in cognitive, developmental, neuropsychological, psychoanalytic, psychodynamic, and interpersonal models of psychological assessment.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119771890Publication Date: 2020-12-31
Handbook of assessment methods for eating behaviors and weight related problemsCall Number: Cl Book Stacks RC552.E18 H357 1995Contains 45 full instruments.
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781597453875Publication Date: 2009-10-03
Handbook of Community and Home Health Nursing by Publication Date: 1995-11-01Contains 252 full instruments.
Handbook of measurements for marriage and family therapyCall Number: CL Book Stacks RC488.5 .F73 1987Contains 24 full instruments.
Handbook of psychiatric measuresCall Number: RSV/BOOK/PATTERSONContains 136 full instruments on CD-ROM Disc.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118960684Publication Date: 2016-03-24
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook by
The fourth edition of this essential resource has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Each instrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This first volume covers measures for use with couples, families, and children; its companion focuses on adults. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries. Giving clinicians the scales they need to measure their clients' problems and monitor their outcomes, these all-in-one sourcebooks bring effective, accountable practice within reach for today's busy professionals.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195181906Publication Date: 2007-01-11
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook - Adults by
The fourth edition of this essential resource has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Each instrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This volume focuses on scales for use with adults; its companion provides a range for couples, families, and children. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries. Giving clinicians the scales they need to measure their clients' problems and monitor their outcomes, these all-in-one sourcebooks bring effective, accountable practice within reach for today's busy professionals.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195181913Publication Date: 2007-01-11
Measuring health : a guide to rating scales and questionnairesCall Number: CL Book Stacks RA408.5 .M38 2006Contains 76 full instruments.
Positive psychological assessment : a handbook of models and measuresCall Number: CL Book Stacks - BF176 .P67 2003Contains 19 full instruments.
Practitioner's guide to empirically based measures of anxietyCall Number: RC531 .P73 2001Contains 77 full Instruments. See Appendix B.
Practitioner's guide to empirically based measures of depressionCall Number: RC537 .P6924 2000Contains 24 full instruments. See Appendix B.
Databases for Finding Test & Measurement Information
*Note: These databases provide information such as descriptions, reviews, author, publisher, and other data. PsycTests has some test instruments, but it is a very limited quantity.
Most assessments are commercial products, or seekers must contact the corresponding author to obtain access. Occasionally, you may find a questionnaire included in a thesis' or dissertation's appendices. Search Theses and Dissertations Global for examples. Be sure to appropriately cite the dissertation used if you obtain the assessment from their work.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Contains descriptions of instruments of use in assessing health and behavior. Includes questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales and tests. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. MMY contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. It provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, author, etc.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowPsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to over 7000 psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
- Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Websites related to finding tests and measures
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences (from Internet Archive) The "Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences" (TMSS) is an index to tests and measurement tools used in psychology, sociology, health, marketing, management, and so on, that may be found in one or more reference resources. This index was originally created to help students who are writing academic papers. Each document that is part of the TMSS index features one resource containing some of the many tests that can be found quickly in compilation volumes available in and through our libraries. TMSS was designed as a service to locate tests, measures, instruments, etc. when there is a known title and a copy of the research tool is desired. When full text of a test is available in a printed volume, a test index page for the volume may be created. Each entry contains: test title, test acronym, copyright or publication date(s), author(s), and source citation. Copyright permission is NOT provided for use or reproduction of the instruments, neither here nor usually in the print resource. Contact the copyright holder of the measure for these permissions. (~from Internet Archive)
Credo Reference Info
- Beck Depression Inventory IIFrom The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The Beck Depression Inventory-II (BDI-II; Beck, Steer, & Brown, 1996) is a 21-item self-report instrument for measuring the severity of depression in adolescents and adults according to symptoms corresponding to the criteria for diagnosing major depressive disorders. - Intelligence Test: Topic PageTest that attempts to measure innate intellectual ability, rather than acquired ability.
- Myers-Briggs Type IndicatorFrom Capstone Encyclpaedia of Business
The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is probably the most frequently used personality inventory in the United States alone. Over 3 million MBTIs are administered each year. - PsychometricsFrom The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The field of psychometrics generally considers quantitative psychological data. Such data normally emerges from test responses, although it may come from other measures. - Rorschach testFrom The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
The grandfather of all PROJECTIVE TESTS, designed and developed by the Swiss psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach. The administration of the test consists of a structured interview using a series of ten standardized, bilaterally symmetrical inkblots.