Recommended Journals
-
Counseling and Values Counseling and Values is the official journal of the Association for Spiritual, Ethical, and Religious Values in Counseling (ASERVIC), formerly the Association for Religious and Values Issues in Counseling (ARVIC), a division of the American Counseling Association.
-
Journal for social action in counseling and psychologyThe Journal for Social Action in Counseling and Psychology promotes deep reflection on community change and system transformation in which counselors, psychologists, and other human service professionals play a role. This open access journal aims to highlight ‘engaged scholarship’ and the very important social change work done by professionals and activists that would not normally find its way into publication. The journal attempts to break down the divide between theory and practice in one of the most critical areas of our work: social transformation toward social and ecological justice and peace.
-
Journal of college counseling Journal of College Counseling advances the college counseling research base and informs the practice of counselors working in higher education settings.
-
Journal of Counseling and Development Journal of Counseling & Development is the flagship journal of the American Counseling Association.
-
Journal of counseling psychology The Journal of Counseling Psychology is a peer-reviewed academic journal published by the American Psychological Association. It was established in 1954 and covers research in counseling psychology
-
Journal of Family Psychology The Journal of Family Psychology® (JFP) is the premier family research journal. Family psychology is a complex field, as it includes systems perspectives on the multiple influences on relationships, developmental perspectives on how relationships are formed and sustained over time, cultural perspectives on how society and traditions affect relationships, the intersection of individual differences and social relationships, and practice components in how to affect real and meaningful changes in couple, parent, and family relationships.
-
Journal of Family Studies The Journal of Family Studies is a peer-reviewed international journal that aims to develop the understanding of families, households, and relationships in society. The journal takes an inclusive view of families across a range of structures and with consideration of gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, nationality, class, age, and health or disability.
-
The journal of humanistic counseling The Journal of Humanistic Counseling explores humanistic counseling practices and experiential-developmental counseling processes, broadly conceived. We aim to disseminate contemporary humanistic scholarship and research that support practitioner growth, training program development, and the vital promotion of inclusivity and diversity across worldviews. We are also committed to practitioner growth and welcome case study submissions that speak to the professional experience of counselors in the field. The official journal of the Association for Humanistic Counseling (AHC), a division of the American Counseling Association.
-
Journal of Marital and Family TherapyThe flagship journal of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, Journal of Marital and Family Therapy, is one of the best-known and most influential family therapy journals in the world. JMFT prioritizes publishing cutting-edge articles that showcase relationally-oriented clinical research. JMFT seeks to advance theory, clinical practice, and training in couple, marriage, and family therapy to help reduce relationship distress and enhance the evidence base of systemic family therapy.
-
Journal of Mental Health Counseling he quarterly Journal of Mental Health Counseling (JMHC) provides clinical mental health counselors and researchers with practical knowledge and illuminating background from in-depth research on clinical studies and counseling practice. Published since 1978, JMHC articles address all aspects of practice, theory, professionalism, research, and neuroscience related to clinical mental health counseling.
-
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development (JMCD) is concerned with research, theory, and program applications pertinent to multicultural and ethnic minority interests in all areas of counseling and human development. JMCD is the official journal of the Association for Multicultural Counseling and Development (AMCD), a division of the American Counseling Association.
-
Professional School CounselingProfessional School Counseling, the flagship journal of the American School Counselor Association, is a rigorous peer-reviewed journal that publishes high-quality manuscripts on theory, research and best practices for the profession. Also explored are techniques, materials and ideas to assist school counselors and related practitioners at all levels in their professional development. The journal's foci strengthen the bonds among school counselors and help maintain a shared awareness of the roles, problems and progress of school counseling across various settings and levels.
-
Sexual and Relationship Therapy Sexual and Relationship Therapy (SRT) offers a multidisciplinary forum for review and debate in the field of psychosexual and relationship therapies. It presents original research and best practice and is a vehicle for new theory, methodology, and application.
Recommended Databases
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text, provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
-
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Contains descriptions of instruments of use in assessing health and behavior. Includes questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales and tests. Please click on the 'Logoff' icon when finished.
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. MMY contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. It provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, author, etc.
-
Oxford Clinical Psychology This link opens in a new windowOxford Clinical Psychology provides full-text access to over 300 titles in Oxford's global clinical psychology publishing program in an integrated online service. Covering a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities, Oxford Clinical Psychology enables users to search and browse high-quality research and practice information.
-
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
-
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new windowPsychotherapy.net offers inspiring and informative counseling and therapy videos. Over the last 20 years we have produced or licensed 246 videos that meet the highest standard of quality and relevance to clinicians and educators and made them all available online - anytime, anywhere. The collection is searchable by keyword, expert, therapeutic issue, and client population. Web tools like clip making, interactive running transcripts, smart keyword search, and downloadable instructor's manuals empower users to easily explore, present, and share our videos with colleagues, students, or interns - responding adaptively to unique teaching and training needs.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains nearly 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals.
-
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to over 7000 psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from over 1,700 of the world’s leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
-
Up to Date This link opens in a new window
A clinical information resource created by a community of 3,000 expert clinicians that provides current answers to clinical questions. Over 8,500 topics are covered.