Counseling & Marital and Family Therapy

A comprehensive and practical approach to the world of marriage, couples, and family counseling Esteemed academics David Capuzzi and Mark D. Stauffer present the theory, research, and real-life practice of today's counselors and therapists in family therapy settings. Aligned with the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) and Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE), this useful text covers foundational teaching important to readers, but also critical modern topics not included in other texts, such as sexuality, trauma, divorce, domestic violence, and addictions, filial play therapy, and using community genograms to position culture and context in family therapy. With a unique focus on practical applications, the book discusses the major family therapy theories, and provides graduate students and post-graduate learners in counseling, mental health, and behavioral health fields the skills and techniques they need to help couples and families as part of their work in a variety of helping environments. Each chapter contains case studies and anecdotes that help readers think critically about the issues they are likely to deal with as clinicians. Written by recognized and respected contributors, this book helps readers see the connection between what they know and what happens in couples and family counseling sessions. Readers will: Learn the knowledge and skills essential to family therapy Understand the history, concepts, and techniques associated with major theories Examine the key issues specific to couples work, with relevant intervention Explore solutions to the complexities generated by special issues Discusses the modern realities of family, diversity and culture, and systemic contexts Family and couples counseling presents a complex interplay of various factors inherent to each individual, the dynamic interplay between each person's issues, and the outside influences that shape behavior. Foundations of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling helps readers sort out the complexity and guide clients toward lasting resolution.

Religion can play a vital role in the way people relate to each other, particularly with interpersonal dynamics within a family. The role of a couple or family¿s religion(s) in the counseling room is no less important. This book provides practitioners with an overview of the principles of the major world religions, with specific focus on how each religion can influence family dynamics, and how best to incorporate this knowledge into effective practice with clients.

First published in 1977. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

First published in 1990. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Since its original publication in 1996, this volume has been a helpful guide to therapists in the practice of emotionally focused therapy. This second edition will address the many changes in the field of couples therapy, including updated research results linked to clinical intervention and new information on using EFT to address depression and PTSD. A new section covers the growth of couples therapy as a field and its overall relevance to the mental health field, accompanied by coverage of how recent research into the nature of marital distress is consonant with EFT. Other new features are a section on EFT and feminism, as well as a section on cultural competence for the EFT therapist. Written by a leading authority on emotionally focused couples and marital therapy, this second edition will be an up-to-date reference on all aspects of EFT and its uses for mental health professionals.

"Constructual Marital Therapy (CMT) presents a comprehensive paradigm in which marital therapists can successfully diagnose and treat couples. The model for CMT is eclectic and comprehensive and incorporates the knowledge of other models associated with marital therapy. The book begins with a unique operational definition of love and marriage that is useful to therapists, clients and students. Dr. Jung then proceeds to describe important aspects of individual dynamics and how they influence the development of marriage." "Constructual Marital Therapy provides three paradigms besides marital and divorce therapy. They are individual therapy, accommodation therapy and veritive therapy. In addition, the author adds the "we psyche," the "negative spiral," and a new concept for categorizing problems. Case studies are presented for marital therapy, individuation therapy, accommodation therapy, veritive therapy, and divorce therapy." "Beginning therapists in search of a practice model, advanced therapists who wish to add a new dimension to their work, and college professors teaching marital and family therapy will find this book a solid resource."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

First published in 1990. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

"Students like the integrative approach....This book is easy to read and understand....An excellent text for introductory courses and marital therapy. It covers important areas and issues of marriage from both a practical and theoretical standpoint." --Grace Bohr, M.S., Marywood College

Use goal-oriented techniques for successful family therapy with substance abusers! Family therapy is an essential core competency for substance-abuse counselors, according to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Family Solutions for Substance Abuse: Clinical and Counseling Approaches delivers the information and techniques you need to effectively treat addicts and their families. By understanding and changing the dynamics of the family system, you will be better able to guide your clients to adopt strategies and behaviors that sustain recovery and maintain healthy relationships. Family Solutions for Substance Abuse provides clear models of diagnosis and intervention for families, whether that means couples, teenagers and their parents, or Mom, Dad, and the kids. The theoretical background on family systems will help you understand the context of the client's addiction and the way it affects and is affected by other family members. Numerous case studies and figures bring the expert advice and theory into the practical realm so you can choose the best strategies for helping the shattered family heal. Family Solutions for Substance Abuse will teach you useful therapeutic skills and strategies, including: understanding interdependence joining with different family members negotiating goals and contracts dealing with family violence assessing motivation handling relapses ending treatment Treating addictions is notoriously difficult for even the most skilled therapist working with the most motivated client. Using the techniques in Family Solutions for Substance Abuse offers you and your clients a better chance at success, because addicts whose families share their treatment are much more likely to stay in counseling and remain clean and sober.

*A complete overview of the psychology of a wide variety of communication disorders * Presents optimal strategies to help patients and their families cope with the emotional issues accompanying communication disorders * Offers case studies drawn from Dr. Rollin's 40 years of clinical experience * Discusses ethical principles and delineates counseling boundaries