Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theology and Religious Studies: Finding Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search the web for a variety of written work from a variety of academic sources.  You can set up the Scholar Preferences to show in your results when an item is available through USD; follow the Scholar Preferences link to the Library Links section on the page.  When you access Google Scholar through the link below, that preference is already set.

Google Scholar Search

ILL - Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan at Copley Library

Enter here to order articles.

Remember, the Circuit will allow you to retrieve books that are available for checkout from Circuit member institutions, but this does not include journal articles.  Use ILLiad to request articles, and be sure to provide as much information about the article as possible.

Searching for Articles

Locate a particular article, for which you have the full citation.  For instance, to find the following article:

 

Mostert, Christiaan. "The kingdom anticipated: the church and eschatology." International Journal of Systematic Theology 13, no. 1 (January 1, 2011): 25-37.

 

o   Search the catalog for the title of the journal in which the article appears.   For the example above, search for Journal of Systematic Theology.

o   The results you get in the catalog will tell you what kind of access we have to this journal, whether print or online.  If we have access online, there will be a link to follow to get to the full text.  If we only have access to the print journal, you will have to come to the library to find it.  If we don’t have access at all, you can request a copy of the article through Inter-Library Loan (see above).

 

Locate an article on a particular topic:

 

o   First, choose a database.  Click on Databases on the library’s home page, and then Browse by Subject.

o   When you see the list of databases, read the annotation describing the contents of each.  This will help you choose the right database for the search at hand.

o   Click on the title of the database to enter.  If you’re off campus, you’ll need to enter your mysandiego login information.

o   You may want to limit your search to Scholarly or Peer Reviewed/Refereed journals.  These are journals that contain articles which have been reviewed by other scholars in the field and have therefore been accepted as reliable scholarly sources.  There is usually a box to check on the search page to limit your search to these types of journals.

Start your research here:

You can find all these sources in the Databases list A to Z

ATLA Religion Database: The leading international database indexing journals, books and book chapters in the scholarly fields of religion. This resource covers such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.

Biblical Archaeology Online Archive: The BAS Online Archive is an educational Web site containing the editorial content of each issue of the bimonthly magazine Biblical Archaeology Review from 1975 to present, as well as five books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index: The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online is the product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library Association. This database of more than 300,000 records covering Roman Catholic publications has now been subsumed into the ATLA Religion Database.

Historical Abstracts: 1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.

Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance: Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) . ITER resources include the Iter Bibliography among others.

New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database has become an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 40,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 14,900 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.

Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.

RAMBI is the List of Articles in Jewish Studies. Based largely on the collections of the National Library of Israel, it includes articles from a wide variety of journals and collections of journals. 

 

Peer-Reviwed Journals

Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed Journals or Scholarly Journals, are...

  • scholarly journals with articles that have been critically evaluated and approved by several scholars (expert peer-reviewers) before inclusion in a journal, not just by an editor.
  • reviewed by peers to assess the quality of the methodology, data, and conclusions presented.

Peer review lends credibility to the article because the process confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.


Verify that a journal is peer-reviewed with Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Need Help?