Finding Data and Statistics: Social Sciences

"ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."

"The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets."

"Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web."

"Search 30.3 million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories."

"Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions."

"The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences and related disciplines."

"IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present."

"The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."

Digital tools and resources to access Pew Research Center data. "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."

"UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade."

"The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

"To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation."

"It contains descriptions (metadata) of the more than 30,000 data collections held by CESSDA’s Service Providers (SP), representing 20 European countries. It is a one-stop shop for searching and finding data, enabling effective access to European social science data. The data described are varied. They may be quantitative, qualitative or mixed-modes data, cross-sectional or longitudinal, recently collected or historical data."

"Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society. GSS Data Explorer, from NORC at the University of Chicago, makes it easier than ever to use the data collected by the GSS."

"The Henry A. Murray Research Archive is the endowed, permanent repository for quantitative and qualitative research data at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science. Our collection comprises over 125 terabytes of data, audio, and video."

"RCMD catalogs studies across the social science disciplines and provides SAS, PASW (formerly SPSS), and Stata files for the studies in the RCMD collection. Online analysis is available for some of them. This enables users to perform statistical procedures on a dataset without downloading it or requiring specific statistical packages."

"Our Dataverse consists of unique surveys, enumerations, public opinion polls, and de-identified administrative records. Topics of studies include political attitudes and behavior; social and economic attitudes and behaviors; studies of health status and health outcomes; families, children, and women; international surveys of occupational and social mobility; the Los Angeles County Social Surveys; California Polls; and, census data for the United States and other countries."