Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copley Library Diversity and Inclusion Resources: Digital USD

This guide provides the USD community with resources and information to support institutional and personal learning about diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility topics. It is a living document and will be updated on an ongoing basis.

About Digital USD

Digital USD publishes, preserves, and provides open online access to the scholarship, creative work, original data sets, and archival material produced by or affiliated with the University of San Diego community. By curating and sharing these historical and current intellectual activities, Digital USD showcases and connects the unique contributions of the university’s faculty, staff, and students to an audience worldwide, fueling new research, discoveries, and knowledge.

Digital USD promotes free, open, unrestricted access to and discovery of its materials, and seeks to include a diversity of voices and perspectives. Digital USD celebrates changemaking by showcasing endeavors characterized by active citizenship, positive social change, innovation, and community engagement.

Centering Diverse Narratives

San Diego Lowrider Archival Collection

https://digital.sandiego.edu/lowriders/

The San Diego Lowrider Archival Project documents the history of lowriding in San Diego and the surrounding borderlands, from the 1950s through today. The project includes photographs, car club documents and memorabilia, official records, meeting minutes, dance posters and lowrider art.

Japanese Bookplate Collection

https://digital.sandiego.edu/japanese_bookplates/

Copley Library’s Japanese bookplate collection is part of a much larger collection of over 4,000 bookplates donated by Christine Price to the San Diego College for Women. The seventy-eight Japanese bookplates in this collection represent the work of forty-two different artists working during the early 1960s.

Vitenmanese American Oral Histories

https://digital.sandiego.edu/vietnamese-american-oral-histories/

The purpose of this project is to create a deeper understanding of the history of Vietnamese forced migration to San Diego as a result of the Vietnam War and to bridge the gap between these refugees and later generations of Vietnamese Americans. These oral histories authentically preserve a large part of Vietnamese American history by being told from the perspective of the refugees rather than the current narratives portrayed in mainstream media.

Department of Ethnic Studies Collections

https://digital.sandiego.edu/ethn/

The Department of Ethnic Studies Collections includes Senior Capstone Papers and Department Newsletters. The Ethnic Studies senior capstone projects invites advanced students to examine and apply Ethnic Studies knowledge, critique, and methodology to a community-centered internship.

Anti-Racism Resources

A Resource Guide for Schools and Districts: Addressing Racism in the Education System | Joi Spencer PhD, University of San Diego and Kerri A. Ullucci PhD, Roger Williams University

https://digital.sandiego.edu/soles-faculty/6/

Islamophilia: Challenging Prejudice and Promoting Mutual Understanding | Lallia Allali, M.A.

https://digital.sandiego.edu/theses/16/

Resources for Teaching about Racism and Police Violence | Kerri A. Ullucci PhD, Roger Williams University and Joi Spencer PhD, University of San Diego

https://digital.sandiego.edu/soles-faculty/7/

Diversity and Cultural Awareness Resources

Empowering Filipino American Young Adults Through Culturally Relevant Leadership Experiences | Donnaly Y. Atajar, M.A.

https://digital.sandiego.edu/soles-mahel-action/42/

Full of Pride: Improving Latino Engagement and Retention in USD's LGBT+ Community | Miguel Rios, M.A.

https://digital.sandiego.edu/soles-mahel-action/41/

Reshaping What Emerges: Empowering Student Employees to be Authentic | Amber Williams, M.A.

https://digital.sandiego.edu/soles-mahel-action/17/

Self-empowerment of minorities focusing on trans-border communities | Lizbet Carrillo, M.A.

https://digital.sandiego.edu/solesmalscap/39/

Underrepresented Student Involvement with the Office of Sustainability | Jelitsa Fonseca, M.A.

https://digital.sandiego.edu/soles-mahel-action/9/