Other resources
Hosted by Northwestern University, Knight Lab's StoryMapJS is a free tool to help you tell stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events. ~ from StoryMap website
Check out some publicly available Juneteenth StoryMaps embedded or linked below!
Find more by searching "Juneteenth storymap" on your favorite search engine (e.g., Chrome, Safari, or Firefox).
On Juneteenth by Call Number: E185.93.T4G67 2021ISBN: 1631498835Publication Date: 2021-05-04Weaving together American history, dramatic family chronicle, and searing episodes of memoir, Annette Gordon-Reed's On Juneteenth provides a historian's view of the country's long road to Juneteenth, recounting both its origins in Texas and the enormous hardships that African-Americans have endured in the century since, from Reconstruction through Jim Crow and beyond. All too aware of the stories of cowboys, ranchers, and oilmen that have long dominated the lore of the Lone Star State, Gordon-Reed--herself a Texas native and the descendant of enslaved people brought to Texas as early as the 1820s--forges a new and profoundly truthful narrative of her home state, with implications for us all.Combining personal anecdotes with poignant facts gleaned from the annals of American history, Gordon-Reed shows how, from the earliest presence of Black people in Texas to the day in Galveston on June 19, 1865, when Major General Gordon Granger announced the end of legalized slavery in the state, African-Americans played an integral role in the Texas story.Reworking the traditional "Alamo" framework, she powerfully demonstrates, among other things, that the slave- and race-based economy not only defined the fractious era of Texas independence but precipitated the Mexican-American War and, indeed, the Civil War itself.In its concision, eloquence, and clear presentation of history, On Juneteenth vitally revises conventional renderings of Texas and national history. As our nation verges on recognizing June 19 as a national holiday, On Juneteenth is both an essential account and a stark reminder that the fight for equality is exigent and ongoing.
Juneteenth by Call Number: E185.93.T4 C68 2021ISBN: 9781649670007Publication Date: 2021-05-25Juneteenth has been touted as a national day celebrating the end of slavery. Observances from coast to coast have turned this event into part of the national conversation about race, slavery, and how Americans understand, acknowledge, and explain what has been called the national "original sin." But, why Juneteenth? Where did this celebration--which promises to become a national holiday--come from? What is the origin story? What are the facts, and legends, around this important day in the nation's history? This is the first scholarly book to delve into the history behind Juneteenth. Using decades of research in archives around the nation, this book helps separate myth from reality and tells the story behind the celebration in a way that provides new understanding and appreciation for the event. This book will captivate people interested in the history of emancipation and African American history but also those interested in Civil War and Texas history. As the United States continues to wrestle with race relations and the meaning of full equality, Juneteenth promises to become an important expression of that equality--an Independence Day celebration in its own right, a couple of weeks in advance of the traditional July 4th Holiday. This book will be a welcome addition to classrooms, book clubs and general readers interested in this once obscure regional event now destined for the national spotlight.
San Antonio on Parade by Call Number: GT4811.S25 B47 2003ISBN: 1585442224Publication Date: 2003-02-07Cities, like people, may be best known by the way they party. For nearly a century-and-a-half, San Antonio has partied well. In this fascinating look at late-nineteenth-century festivals in San Antonio, Judith Berg Sobré brings an art historian's sensibility to accounts of the pageantry, parades, and festive events that typified a city welcoming settlers from several nations and American regions into a community that valued their individuality even while it taught them a new identity. Six historic festivals provide windows into the culture of this polyglot city: the Fourth of July, Juneteenth, Diez y Seis, Columbus Day, the German Volksfests, and the Battle of the Flowers. Each of these events feature a parade through the downtown streets and plazas followed by a celebration--sometimes lasting several days--in a city park. The festival allowed its sponsors to showcase the language, foods, costumes, and dances of their homeland while still identifying themselves as patriotic supporters of their new country. Sobré demonstrates how the patriotic and ethnic festivals of the era served the "melting pot," allowing simultaneous celebration of the cultures of origin and the American culture. She describes the festivals vividly, and more than fifty photographs illustrate the activity and fun of the events. Moreover, Sobré traces the evolution of the individual celebrations to show how they reflected the growth and maturing of the city and how ultimately they changed as American identity became less inclusive and more chauvinistic. She draws on contemporary writings, especially newspaper accounts, and pictures to form impressions and inform understandings of the conduct and function of civic celebrations. The result is a delightful picture of a city and an era at play--a city and an era that would soon find less reason to play and less ability to nurture and celebrate diversity.
South of Tradition by Call Number: PS153.N5 H295 2002ISBN: 0820324337Publication Date: 2002-11-18With characteristic originality and insight, Trudier Harris-Lopez offers a new and challenging approach to the work of African American writers in these twelve previously unpublished essays. Collectively, the essays show the vibrancy of African American literary creation across several decades of the twentieth century. But Harris-Lopez's readings of the various texts deliberately diverge from traditional ways of viewing traditional topics. South of Tradition focuses not only on well-known writers such as Zora Neale Hurston, Ralph Ellison, James Baldwin, and Richard Wright, but also on up-and-coming writers such as Randall Kenan and less-known writers such as Brent Wade and Henry Dumas. Harris-Lopez addresses themes of sexual and racial identity, reconceptualizations of and transcendence of Christianity, analyses of African American folk and cultural traditions, and issues of racial justice. Many of her subjects argue that geography shapes identity, whether that geography is the European territory many blacks escaped to from the oppressive South, or the South itself, where generations of African Americans have had to come to grips with their relationship to the land and its history. For Harris-Lopez, "south of tradition" refers both to geography and to readings of texts that are not in keeping with expected responses to the works. She explains her point of departure for the essays as "a slant, an angle, or a jolt below the line of what would be considered the norm for usual responses to African American literature." The scope of Harris-Lopez's work is tremendous. From her coverage of noncanonical writers to her analysis of humor in the best-selling The Color Purple, she provides essential material that should inform all future readings of African American literature.
- The psychological residuals of slavery / Kenneth V. Hardy, PhDAs internationally acclaimed family therapist and educator Kenneth V. Hardy observes in this compelling video, slavery remains a "contemporary ghost" that shapes African Americans' self-image, their relationships to one another and their relationships with White Americans. Behind a backdrop of powerful historical and contemporary imagery, Hardy clearly demonstrates the importance of recognizing and openly addressing the past, and lays the groundwork for genuine dialogue, understanding, and healing in clinical environments, classrooms, and other settings.
- The African Americans : many rivers to crossExplore with Professor Henry Louis Gates, Jr., the evolution of the African-American people, as well as the multiplicity of cultural institutions, political strategies, and religious and social perspectives they developed-forging their own history, culture and society against unimaginable odds
Search the following Copley databases for even more resources about Juneteenth, Black Americans, and American History related to geneaology, slavery, emancipation, Reconstruction, and much more.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowAncestry Library Edition, the largest online family history resource available, provides unprecedented access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowAmerican National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the nation.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowDeveloped by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history.This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life--as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent via Black-owned newspapers and mainstream publications.
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowCalisphere is a gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections that provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover digital collections of over 400,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new windowWhat did people eat, wear, or use? What did they hope for, invent, and sing?Daily Life Online explores ordinary life through time and across the globe.
- Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new windowIn the 1920s the Ku Klux Klan briefly reemerged from the Reconstruction period as a slick recruiting, marketing, and publishing engine. At its peak in 1924, Klan paid membership exceeded 4,000,000 and its national newspaper, the Imperial Night-Hawk, had a circulation larger than the New York Times. DWSO is a comprehensive collection of Klan and other white nationalist newspapers alongside newspapers published by Catholic, African-American, and Jewish organizations who rose to oppose the rising tide of hate and bigotry.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the 1960s - 1980s. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, and activists from marginalized communities including African-Americans, Native Americans, Latino, LGBTQ and anti-war groups. In addition the collection contains a large number of alternative literary magazines where prominent authors today began publishing. - HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowFounded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
- African American family research on Ancestry.comGuide for researching Black American genealogy on the Ancestry database.
Looking for scholarly articles about Juneteenth? Try this sample keyword search from our EbscoHost databases (e.g., Academic Search Premier) to find 140+ results. Use the Databases tab to try the search in other databases.
-
Juneteenth, Black Texans and the Case for Reparations. (2016). [Article]. Journal of Pan African Studies, 9(5), 101-101. Link
-
Insurance industry voices support of Juneteenth following creation of new federal holiday. (2021). [Article]. Inside P&C, 62-62. Link
-
Acosta, T. P. (2021). On Juneteenth by Annette Gordon-Reed (review) [Article]. Southwestern Historical Quarterly, 125(2), 1-4. https://doi.org/10.1353/swh.2021.0096
-
Adeniran, R. K. (2022). Application of Juneteenth to Nursing: Passion, Perseverance, Pride, and Purpose Can Drive Change. Holistic Nursing Practice, 36(5), 266-267. https://doi.org/10.1097/HNP.0000000000000548
-
Adkins, C. (1999). Juneteenth to Louisiana: 'If I Found Out It Was a Holiday, I'd Try to Celebrate It' [journal article]. Southern Folklore, 56(3), 195-207. Link
-
Allen, D. (2004). A Multilingual America? [journal article]. Soundings: An Interdisciplinary Journal, 87(3-4), 259-280. Link
-
Banner–Haley, C. P. (2002). Transformations and Re–inventions: Juneteenth and Ralph Ellison’s American Identity [Article]. Journal of the Historical Society, 2(3/4), 363-376. Link
-
Barber, A. (2009). Maintaining medical independence in advanced age. Care Management Journals, 10(1), 28-31. https://doi.org/10.1891/1521-0987.10.1.28
-
Bean, C. B. (2022). Juneteenth: The Story Behind the Celebration by Edward T. Cotham Jr. (review) [Article]. Southwestern Historical Quarterly, 125(4), 1-3. https://doi.org/10.1353/swh.2022.0046
-
Bernard, P. E. (2015). A Visit to the Village Elder: From Deep Deuce to Harlem and Back Again [Article]. American Studies (00263079), 54(3), 157-159. https://doi.org/10.1353/ams.2015.0105
-
Blanck, E. (2019). Galveston on San Francisco Bay: Juneteenth in the Fillmore District, 1945–2016 [Article]. Western Historical Quarterly, 50(2), 85-112. https://doi.org/10.1093/whq/whz003
-
Blue, C. P. (2012). Emancipation is a Park [Article]. Houston History, 9(3), 15-18. Link