Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Trans-Border Institute: Databases

Welcome to the LibGuide for the Trans-Border Institute (TBI). Here you will find databases and other resources (print and online) to help you with your research on Mexican and Latin American politics, history, economics, and culture.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Start your research here:

Academic Search Premier Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.

Clase and Periodica Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)  Index to journal articles, book reviews, original literary works and other materials. Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States . From 1970 to present.

JSTOR JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Latin America Database A full-text news and information database on political, social, and economic issues in Latin America. 

Latino American Experience The Latino American Experience (LAE) is the first-ever full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE?s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos. 

Lexis Nexis Uni A full-text database of over 5,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services, business publications and company information along with basic legal and medical resources

Project Muse Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

 

 

Copley Library

Profile Photo
Alma Ortega, PhD
She/her/hers
Contact:
University of San Diego - Copley Library
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492


When chat is off feel free to email me your research and library related questions:
alma@sandiego.edu or we can connect via Zoom:
https://sandiego.zoom.us/my/almaortegaphd. You can also call and leave a message:
619.260.2259