Research Guides: International Relations: Online Resources

Online Databases

These online resources provide background, intelligence, policy information and scholarship on international relations. For databases containing solely journal articles, click the "Articles" tab above.

CIAO-Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarship in international affairs, including books, journals, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, and policy briefs. Coverage: 1991-present. Also provides teaching resources, e.g. case studies and course packs.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to the text of foreign news sources, often in English. It also includes the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal and over 8,000 other magazines, newspapers, and trade journals from a wide variety of disciplines.

Armed Conflict Database
Covers international and internal conflicts, and terrorism. Provides concise descriptions of conflicts with background, timelines, maps. Includes data on IDPs, refugees, weapons use and flows, and costs. Interactive function allows users to create custom reports.

International Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.