Asian Studies

Library of Congress Country Studies - Area Handbooks

Provides extensive information on countries, describing and analyzing political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. and includes photographs, maps, and charts.

Libraries with strong Asian Studies Collections:

North America

• Columbia University-C. V. Starr East Asian Library
• Cornell University -Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia
• Duke University -East Asian Collection
• Indiana University -East Asian Collection
• Library of Congress-Asian Reading Room
• Princeton University-East Asian Library and the Gest Collection
• Smithsonian Institution-Freer Gallery of Art&Arthur M.Sackler Gallery Library
• Stanford University-East Asia Library
• Stanford University-Hoover Institution Library and Archives
• University of British Columbia-Asian Library
• University of California, Berkeley-C. V. Starr East Asian Library
• University of California, Irvine-East Asian Collection
• University of California, Los Angeles-Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library
• University of California, Santa Barbara-East Asian Library
• University of Chicago-East Asian Collection
• University of Hawai'i-Asia Collection
• University of Kansas-East Asian Library    
• University of Maryland, College Park-East Asian Collection
• University of Michigan-Asia Library
• University of Minnesota-East Asian Collection
• University of Pennsylvania-East Asian Collection
• University of Pittsburgh-East Asian Library
• University of Toronto-Cheng Yu Tung East Asian Library
• University of Washington-East Asia Library
• University of Wisconsin-Madison-East Asian Collection
• Yale University-East Asian Library

Europe

• European Association of Sinological Librarians -- Libraries and Catalogs
• British Library-Asia, Pacific and Africa Collections
• University of London-SOAS (School of Oriental and African Studies) Library
• Bibliotheque National de France-Le département des Manuscrits (division orientale)
• University of Heidelberg-Institute of Chinese Studies Library
• Bodleian Library, University of Oxford-Department of Oriental Collections
• Leiden University-China studies

Australia

• Monash University-Asian Studies Research Collection
• University of Melbourne-East Asian Collection
• University of Sydney-East Asian Collection