Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian Studies

Asian Studies research resources at USD

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

ILL - Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan at Copley Library

enter here to requests articles

Start your research here:

Asia Studies Full Text is the premier database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for the region?s most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

China Data Online provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, which include the following databases: (1) Monthly Statistics - provides the monthly macroeconomic statistics at national, provincial and city levels from 1998 to current; (2) National Statistics - provides statistical data of China from 1949 to current; (3) Provincial Statistics - provides the statistical data of all provinces from 1949 to current; (4) City Statistics - provides yearly statistics of prefecture and county level cities from 1996; (5) County Statistics - provides the yearly county statistics from 1997; (6) Industrial Statistics ? provides monthly and yearly statistics by industries from 1999; and (7) Statistical Yearbooks - includes a series of China national, provincial, city and professional statistical yearbooks, which will be expanded to cover all statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China. Note: Census data not available with current subscription. 

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online  is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Economist Intelligence Unit  provides a constant flow of analysis and forecasts on more than 200 countries and eight key industries.Country analysis includes in-depth economic, political, business, and industry information. Trends, forecasts, market indicators, and more.

Historical Abstracts  1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. For US history, use America History and Life. 

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center  this database offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. 

Military & Government Collection designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

Public Affairs International Service (PAIS)  indexes journals, books and book chapters in political science, international relations, and urban studies. 


Other useful sources:

Academic Search Premier  this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. 

Daily Life Through History  What did people eat, wear, or use? What did they hope for, invent, and sing?Daily Life Online explores ordinary life through time and across the globe.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text the database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

 

 

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed Journals or Scholarly Journals, are...

  • scholarly journals with articles that have been critically evaluated and approved by several scholars (expert peer-reviewers) before inclusion in a journal, not just by an editor.
  • reviewed by peers to assess the quality of the methodology, data, and conclusions presented.

Peer review lends credibility to the article because the process confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.


Verify that a journal is peer-reviewed with Ulrich's Periodical Directory