Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American Studies: Finding Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

ILL - Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan at Copley Library

enter here to order articles

Start your research here:

Humanities and Social Sciences 

Clase and Periodica Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)  Index to journal articles, book reviews, original literary works and other materials. Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States . From 1970 to present.

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Latin America Digital Beat Database A full-text news and information database on political, social, and economic issues in Latin America.

Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges This online database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundación San Telmo, which contains the world’s largest collection of materials related to Borges’ life and works. The collection was begun in 1986 and includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents.

Literature Resource Center Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Published by Gale Research.

MLA International Bibliography  lists journal articles and a variety of other types of materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.

Project Muse Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

 

Also useful

Academic Search Premier Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic Universe) A full-text database of over 5,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services, business publications and company information along with basic legal and medical resources

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed Journals or Scholarly Journals, are...

  • scholarly journals with articles that have been critically evaluated and approved by several scholars (expert peer-reviewers) before inclusion in a journal, not just by an editor.
  • reviewed by peers to assess the quality of the methodology, data, and conclusions presented.

Peer review lends credibility to the article because the process confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.


Verify that a journal is peer-reviewed with Ulrich's Periodical Directory