Featured Art Book
The Female Gaze by Call Number: NA7208 .G67 2008ISBN: 9781555953898Publication Date: 2013-01-16The Linda Lee Alter Collection of Art by Women is a collection at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (PAFA) of approximately 400 works of art including paintings, photographs, drawings, watercolours, pastels, collage, prints, fabric pieces, ceramics, bronze, wood, and sculpture in other media by over 150 artists. The collection includes works by artists such as Louise Bourgeois, Joan Brown, Viola Frey, Ana Mendieta, Alice Neel, Louise Nevelson, Christina Ramberg, Betye Saar, Kiki Smith, Nancy Spero, and Beatrice Wood among many others. This accessibly written, fully illustrated publication includes ten new essays on women artists since the 1920s. The chief aim is to document and celebrate this unprecedented gift in PAFA's history. The book breaks new ground in scholarship on its topics, takes risks with interpretation, and uses the broad themes and wide array of artists represented in the collection as a starting point for reflections on the history of the feminist movement, individual artists, and regional identities. Artists from the collection have a strong voice throughout the publication through interviews, writings, and the incorporation of archival materials. The Linda Lee Alter Collection catalogue will be the lasting document of the collection and will accompany the travelling version of the exhibition, which is projected to travel to four US venues in 2013 and 2014. AUTHOR: Robert Cozzolino is Senior Curator and Curator of Modern Art, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts. ILLUSTRATIONS: 200 colour illustrations
Boolean Operators
Boolean operators allow you to combine your keywords to create a search that the databases can use to retrieve the results you need. The words AND, OR are the most commonly used Boolean operators. The third is NOT, which can be difficult to use because it might exclude useful results.
AND combines your search terms and looks for them together in search result. Example: A search for Leonardo da Vinci AND Michelangelo will retrieve records that have both keywords: Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo.
OR separates your search terms, finding records that contain either keyword. Example: A search for Leonardo da Vinci OR Michelangelo will retrieve records all the records that contain either of the search terms as well as records with both of the search terms.
NOT finds records that only have the first keyword, but will exclude records that have both keywords or just the second keyword. A search for Leonardo da Vinci NOT Michelangelo will find records only containing Leonardo da Vinci and will exclude records that also include Michelangelo or are only about him. This boolean operator is only useful when you want to exclude a topic that is often associated with your first keyword. For example, if you wanted articles about Leonardo da Vinci's paintings excluding the Mona Lisa, the search: Leonardo da Vinci NOT Mona Lisa. Just remember that this type of search is very narrow and might exclude records that also include information on your topic.
Subject Searches
Samples of searches for art books in the library's online catalog
Featured Photography Book
Bloodflowers by ISBN: 9781478000891Publication Date: 2019-02-15In Bloodflowers W. Ian Bourland examines the photography of Rotimi Fani-Kayode (1955-1989), whose art is a touchstone for cultural debates surrounding questions of gender and queerness, race and diaspora, aesthetics and politics, and the enduring legacy of slavery and colonialism. Born in Nigeria, Fani-Kayode moved between artistic and cultural worlds in Washington, DC, New York, and London, where he produced the bulk of his provocative and often surrealist and homoerotic photographs of black men. Bourland situates Fani-Kayode's work in a time of global transition and traces how it exemplified and responded to profound social, cultural, and political change. In addition to his formal analyses of Fani-Kayode's portraiture, Bourland outlines the important influence that surrealism, neo-Romanticism, Yoruban religion, the AIDS crisis, experimental film, loft culture, and house and punk music had on Fani-Kayode's work. In so doing, Bourland offers new perspectives on a pivotal artist whose brief career continues to resonate with deep aesthetic and social meaning.
Featured Artists' Book
Solemates : 0 to 19th century by
Call Number: GT2130 .S52 2003Special Collections
