Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Find Journal Articles
When you search for a topic in our databases sometimes the article will be available as full-text.
If the article is not available as full text, you will get a list of citations. These citations usually refer to articles appearing in journals, magazines and newspapers. Note the information in the citation (author, title, journal title, volume, date, page numbers).
Then, check our Catalog to see whether we have the journal either in our stacks or through a different online source.
If we do not subscribe to the journal where your article appears, you can use our Interlibrary Loan Service to request a copy of the article you need.
Peer-reviewed journals, also known as Refereed journals or scholarly journals, are journals with articles that have been critically
evaluated and approved by several scholars (reviewers with expertise in the subject of the article)
before inclusion in a journal.
Peer reviews lend credibility to the article because the process
confirms the reliability of the data and the findings of the research.
To verify that a journal is peer-reviewed check Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Click here to go to the eJournal Finder to search for journals in electronic format.
Art & Humanities Databases
These databases include entries on art as well as a variety of related topics in the Humanities. Many contain journals with full text articles.
A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to art and architectural history scholarship by making newly-released and born-digital publications as well as key backlist and out-of-print titles on a wide variety of subjects more broadly available and more widely discoverable through deep tagging on images and text, a robust image search that directs users toward relevant publications, and an interactive online reader tailored for highly illustrated works. The platform also permits professors to create course packs for students. The collection includes content from other university and museum publishers (Yale University Press, Art Institute of Chicago, The MIT Press, Harvard Art Museums, Yale University Art Gallery).
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Oxford Art Online
The home of Grove Art Online and the access point for Oxford art reference publications.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals and contains more than 2.47 million records.
Interaction of Color
The Interaction of Color Complete Digital Edition website is packed with elegant and innovative features that help you to explore the book’s ideas and experiment with color the way Albers intended. Users will have to create an account with the website or they can use their A&AePortal login.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
ter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) . ITER resources include the Iter Bibliography, Milton: A Bibliography for the Years 1624-1700: Revised and for the Years 1701-1799 , Iter Italicum, Early Theatre (volume 1 (1998) to the present, and Renaissance and Reformation/Renaissance et Réform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.