Reference Resources
The sources below are useful for getting started on the research process. Links are to online reference sources. Many more print sources are available at Copley Library.
- Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume DesignA browsable collection of images from the Rare Book and Special Collections Library at the University of Illinois at Urban-Champaign.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Published by Gale Research.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowA research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images from Pre-contact to the present day.
- Bartleby.com'Great Books Online'. Offers a selection of reference works including the Columbia Encyclopedia (2000), Roget's Thesaurus, and Bullfinch's Mythology.
- Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new windowAddressing topics and figures such as Gothic Fiction and Arabic Philosophy, and WB Yeats, the collection has over 2,200 downloadable essays from 237 Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics (144 vol.) and Philosophy, Religion and Culture (93 vol.).
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA digital library containing high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Offers access to millions of entries and contains all types of reference books including dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering science to Shakespeare.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowThe first-ever full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement, to the present day.
Reference Librarian
Hugh Burkhart
Contact:
Copley Library - CL 231
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492
Please contact me if you need assistance with finding information or getting help researching for your projects.
hburkhart@sandiego.edu
For remote consultations and instruction sessions via Zoom, please email
Website
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110-2492
Please contact me if you need assistance with finding information or getting help researching for your projects.
hburkhart@sandiego.edu
For remote consultations and instruction sessions via Zoom, please email
Subjects: Communication, Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, First Year Writing, French, News, Theatre