Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click here for the Copley Library workshops calendar, which you can also use to register. If you have questions about a workshop please contact the presenter(s).
Click any of the links below for guidelines in using MLA format.
Creative Writing and Academic Composition
Lindsay J. Cropper Center for Creative Writing
The Cropper Center hosts an annual Writers Series, sponsors writing workshops, promotes the development of writing courses, and grants awards for creative writing. Check out this site for updates on events, workshops, and awards.
The USD Writing Center helps students improve their academic writing. Site also includes quick links for useful tips.
New Books and Media for Theatre Arts
Subscribe to this feed to see the most recent 100 new items that are now available at Copley Library.
Welcome to the Theatre Guide
This guide is designed to give you a start on your Theatre research. Use the tabs above to navigate to the different sections of this guide.
Click here to go to the Department of Theatre home page.
Click here to go to the home page of USD's graduate acting program.
Key Electronic Resources
Use the databases below for locating articles and bibliographies.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
A performing arts journal resource with over 465,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, film, drama, and theater.
Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ provides unlimited access to over 1000+ full-length productions and educational resources. They collaborate with 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars to capture and curate live performance in stunning quality, bring an unprecedented range of insights from behind the scenes, and commission bespoke educational resources to support study at every level. They also provided filmed productions and interviews as well as superb written content being added every month.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 231 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA (Modern Language Abstracts) lists journal articles and a variety of other types of materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other materials related to Shakespeare from 1963 to the present.
Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), ITER resources include Milton: A Bibliography for the Years 1624-1700 and Early Theatre (volume 1) 1998 to the present.
Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences, including a backfile dating back to 1999. Journals can be browsed by title.
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
American Film Scripts Online contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays.
New English Language Feature Films
This feed shows the English films recently added to the collection.
New Foreign Language Films
This feed shows foreign language films recently added to the collection.