Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Books
A-Z of Social Research
A collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool.
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Spanning the period from the late nineteenth to the early twenty-first centuries.
Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
Covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers
Contains case studies, by leading experts, of hunting and gathering peoples, in major world regions, plus thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge.
Cambridge World History of Food
Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated.
Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A unique and comprehensive historical guide to the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present.
The Dictionary of Human Geography
an essential aid for undergraduate and graduate students, professional geographers and other scholars in the humanities and social sciences
Dictionary of Languages
The essential guide to the languages of the world, comprehensively detailing languages in a clear A-Z style.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasurehouse of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Written by contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline, combining anthropological theory and ethnography
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary
This multi-purpose dictionary describes holidays, festivals, commemorations, holy days, feasts and fasts, and other observances from all parts of the world.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural database that contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
The American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From Pre-contact to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida, AIE is meant for anyone wishing to learn more about America's Native Peoples.
Anthropology, Psychology and Sociology Librarian