Course Description and Objectives
Course Description:
In the courses "Critical Thinking and Research Methods I & II'' students will be equipped with essential skills to foster effective problem identification and research formulation. Emphasizing the significance of critical thinking, the course will guide students through the initial stages of the research process, encouraging them to discern and articulate the specific research issue or objective they aim to investigate and comprehend the underlying reasons driving their inquiry. By cultivating critical thinking abilities, participants will gain the capacity to identify and understand their organizational needs better. This coursework unfolds over six sequential modules (LEAD 672a, 672b, 672c, 678a, 678b, 678c).
Course Objectives:
Students enrolled in this course will:
-
Apply critical thinking skills to identify and analyze the underlying assumptions, biases, and implications of different theories, fields, and constituencies and develop and present well-supported conclusions and recommendations based on their analysis and synthesis of information.
-
Develop research skills that are rooted in practices of rigorous scholarship to inform best practices in our society.
-
Develop skills in addressing organizational challenges by critically considering relevant research literature and engaging in original quantitative and/or qualitative data collection and analysis.
-
Identify the various elements of well-designed and well-conducted research by going through the experience of practicing data collection, analysis, and interpretation.
-
Acknowledge ethical and intercultural issues involved in designing and conducting research.
-
Apply the research and practice to specific personal, team, or organizational challenges. Developing recommendations for addressing these challenges based on the evidence and insights gathered.
Course Readings & Resources
Note: Some course readings will be available via Copley e-reserves (AKA course reserves). Use the e-reserves link to access. USDOne credentials may be necessary if login page appears.
Examples of Module 1 resources include, but are not limited to:
- Mertens, D. M. (2015). An Introduction to Research. In Mertens, D. M. (Ed.), Research and evaluation in education and psychology : integrating diversity with quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods (pp. 1-45). SAGE Publications, Inc.
- Chapter I- Introduction to Critical ThinkingBassham, G., Irwin, W., Nardone, H., & Wallace, J. N. Chapter I- Introduction to Critical Thinking. In Critical thinking: a student’s introduction (pp. 1-25). McGraw-Hill.
- An Introduction to ResearchMertens, D. M. (2015). An Introduction to Research. In Mertens, D. M. (Ed.), Research and evaluation in education and psychology : integrating diversity with quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods (pp. 1-45). SAGE Publications, Inc
- Critical thinking in the age of generative AILarson, B. Z., Moser, C., Caza, A., Muehlfeld, K., & Colombo, L. A. (2024). From the Editors: Critical Thinking in the Age of Generative Ai. Academy of Management Learning & Education, 23(3), 373–378. https://doi.org/10.5465/amle.2024.0338
- Management Research that Makes a Difference: Broadening the Meaning of ImpactWickert, C., Post, C., Doh, J. P., Prescott, J. E., & Prencipe, A. (2021). Management Research that Makes a Difference: Broadening the Meaning of Impact. Journal of Management Studies, 58(2), 297–320. https://doi.org/10.1111/joms.12666
- The Emergence of Emergent Leadership: A Comprehensive Framework and Directions for Future ResearchHanna, A. A., Smith, T. A., Kirkman, B. L., & Griffin, R. W. (2021). The Emergence of Emergent Leadership: A Comprehensive Framework and Directions for Future Research. Journal of Management, 47(1), 76–104. https://doi.org/10.1177/014920632096568
- What Is Organizational Research For?Davis, G. F. (2015). Editorial Essay: What Is Organizational Research For? Administrative Science Quarterly, 60(2), 179–188. https://doi.org/10.1177/0001839215585725
- Chapter 7 - How to Research Interculturally and EthicallyWoodin, J. (2016). Chapter 7 - How to Research Interculturally and Ethically, In Hua, Z. (Ed.), Research methods in intercultural communication: A practical guide. John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated.
- Scholars before Researchers: On the Centrality of the Dissertation Literature Review in Research PreparationBoote, D. N., & Beile, P. (2005). Scholars before Researchers: On the Centrality of the Dissertation Literature Review in Research Preparation. Educational Researcher, 34(6), 3–15. https://doi.org/10.3102/0013189X034006003
- One size fits not quite all: Universal research ethics with diversityMsoroka, M. S., & Amundsen, D. (2018). One size fits not quite all: Universal research ethics with diversity. Research Ethics, 14(3), 1-17. https://doi.org/10.1177/1747016117739939
- When People of Color Are Left out of Research, Science and the Public LosesRay, K. S. (2020). When People of Color Are Left out of Research, Science and the Public Loses. AJOB Neuroscience, 11(4), 238–240. https://doi.org/10.1080/21507740.2020.1830885
- Feminist research ethicsPeake, P. & Sharp, W. (2024). Feminist research ethics. In Peake, L., Razavi, N.S., & Smyth, A. (Eds.). (2024). Doing Feminist Urban Research: Insights from the GenUrb Project (pp. 117-129) (1st ed.). Routledge. https://doi-org.sandiego.idm.oclc.org/10.4324/9781032668727
- Decolonizing Research Paradigms in the Context of Settler Colonialism: An Unsettling, Mutual, and Collaborative EffortHeld, M. B. E. (2019). Decolonizing Research Paradigms in the Context of Settler Colonialism: An Unsettling, Mutual, and Collaborative Effort. International Journal of Qualitative Methods, 18. https://doi.org/10.1177/1609406918821574
- Of methods and methodologyBryman, A. (2008). Of methods and methodology. Qualitative Research in Organizations and Management, 3(2), 159–168. https://doi.org/10.1108/17465640810900568
- A Typology for the Case Study in Social ScienceThomas, G. (2011). A typology for the case study in social science following a review of definition, discourse, and structure. Qualitative Inquiry, 17(6), 511–521. https://doi.org/10.1177/107780041140988
- Doing Research That Is Useful to PracticeMohrman, S. A., Gibson, C. B., & Mohrman, A. M. (2001). Doing Research That Is Useful to Practice: A Model and Empirical Exploration. The Academy of Management Journal, 44(2), 357–375. https://doi.org/10.2307/3069461
- Choosing a review topic and formulating a research questionEfron, S. E., & Ravid, R. (2019). Choosing a review topic and formulating a research question. In S. E. Efron & R. Ravid (Eds.), Writing the literature review: A practical guide (pp. 39–56). The Guilford Press.
- What is a Literature Review?Efron, S. E., & Ravid, R. (2019). What is a Literature Review? In S. E. Efron & R. Ravid (Eds.), Writing the literature review: A practical guide (pp. 1-14). The Guilford Press.
Research Methodology by
About the Book: This second edition has been thoroughly revised and updated and efforts have been made to enhance the usefulness of the book. In this edition a new chapter The Computer: Its Role in Research have been added keeping in view of the fact that computers by now become a indispensable part of research equipment. The other salient feature of this revised edition, subject contents have been developed and restructured at several places. New problems have also been added in various chapters. Adoption of appropriate methodology is an essential characteristic of quality research studies irrespective of the discipline with which they are related. The present book provides the basic tenets of methodological research so that researchers may become familiar with the art of using research methods and techniques. The book contains introductory explanations of several quantitative methods enjoying wide use in social sciences. It covers a fairly wide range, related to Research Methodology. The presentations are uniformly economical and cogent. Illustrations given are meaningful and relevant. The book can be taken as a well-organised guide for researchers whose methodological background is not extensive. The book is primarily intended to serve as a textbook for social science students of all Indian universities. It will also serve as a text for the students of M.Phil, Management, and students of various institutes. It will serve all practitioners doing research of one form or other in a general way. Contents: Research Methodology: An Introduction Defining the Research Problem Research Design Sampling Design Measurement and Scaling Techniques Methods of Data Collection Processing and Analysis of Data Sampling Fundamentals Testing of Hypotheses-I (Parametric or Standard Tests of Hypotheses) Chi-Square Test Analysis of Variance and Covariance Testing of Hypotheses-II (Non parametric or Distribution-Free Test) Multivariate Analysis Techniques Interpretation and Report Writing The Computer: ITS Role in Research Appendix-Selected Statistical Tables.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9788122424881Publication Date: 2004
Research Methods in Intercultural Communication by
Research Methods in Intercultural Communication introduces and contextualizes the most important methodological issues in the field for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students. Examples of these issues are which paradigms and how to research multilingually, interculturally and ethnically. Provides the first dedicated and most comprehensive volume on research methods in intercultural communication research in the last 30 years Explains new and emerging methods, as well as more established ones. These include: Matched Guise Technique, Discourse Completion Task, Critical Incident Technique, Critical Discourse Analysis, Ethnography, Virtual Ethnography, Corpus Analysis, Multimodality, Conversation Analysis, Narrative Analysis, Questionnaire and Interview. Assists readers in determining the most suitable method for various research questions, conceptualizing the research process, interpreting results, and drawing conclusions Supports students from start to finish with key terms, suggestions for further reading, research summaries, and sound guidance from experienced scholars and researchers
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118837481Publication Date: 2015-11-04
Doing Feminist Urban Research: Insights from the GenUrb Project by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781032668727Publication Date: 2024
Writing the Literature Review by
This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is clearly explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, vignettes, and examples of student work. Also featured are excerpts from peer-reviewed quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods articles. This is the first book to focus on crafting different types of reviews (systematic, traditional-narrative, or hermeneutic-phenomenological) that reflect the writer's research question, methodological choices, and approaches to knowledge. It describes what all reviews have in common and highlights distinct characteristics of each type. The book includes dos and don'ts for evaluating studies and constructing an argument, and software suggestions for locating, organizing, and arranging sources. Pedagogical Features *Checklists and "To Do" activities that break down key steps to take. *Boxed examples, graphics that organize and visually illustrate key concepts, and summary tables. *Group activities that invite students to further explore and apply the methods discussed in each chapter. *Detailed directions for using four different organizing strategies: synthesis matrix, summary table, mapping, and topic outline. *End-of-chapter summaries and "What's Next" sections. *Assessment matrices for reviewing and refining the completed literature review. Winner (First Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781462536917Publication Date: 2018-09-24
Note: Some course readings will be available via Copley e-reserves (AKA course reserves). Use the e-reserves link to access. USDOne credentials may be necessary if login page appears.
- What is Qualitative in ResearchAspers, P., Corte, U. (2021). What is Qualitative in Research. Qualitative Sociology, 44, 599–608 . https://doi-org.sandiego.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/s11133-021-09497-w
- Mixed Methods Research: A Research Paradigm Whose Time Has ComeJohnson, R. B., & Onwuegbuzie, A. J. (2004). Mixed Methods Research: A Research Paradigm Whose Time Has Come. Educational Researcher, 33(7), 14-26. https://doi.org/10.3102/0013189X033007014
- Example of a quantitative research paperTetzner, R (January, 2019). Example of a quantitative research paper. Leyte National High School.
- To live (code) or to not: A new method for coding in qualitative researchParameswaran, U. D., Ozawa-Kirk, J. L., & Latendresse, G. (2020). To live (code) or to not: A new method for coding in qualitative research. Qualitative Social Work, 19(4), 630-644. https://doi.org/10.1177/1473325019840394
- Making the Invisible Visible: Guidelines for the Coding Process in Meta-AnalysesVilliger, J., Schweiger, S. A., & Baldauf, A. (2022). Making the Invisible Visible: Guidelines for the Coding Process in Meta-Analyses. Organizational Research Methods, 25(4), 716-740. https://doi-org.sandiego.idm.oclc.org/10.1177/10944281211046312
- Qualitative Research Methods: A Data Collector’s Field Guide**Download or open the field guide from the website**
Note: Some course readings will be available via Copley e-reserves (AKA course reserves). Use the e-reserves link to access. USDOne credentials may be necessary if login page appears.
- Doing Feminist Urban Research: Insights from the GenUrb Project by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781032668727Publication Date: 2024
- Qualitative Research Methods: A Data Collector’s Field Guide**Download or open the field guide from the website**
- Mission accomplished?: Research methods in the first five years of LeadershipBryman, A. (2011). Mission accomplished?: Research methods in the first five years of Leadership. Leadership, 7(1):73-83. https://doi.org/10.1177/1742715010386864