OER Search Tool
Developed at the SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library, OASIS aims to make discovering open content easier. It searches open content from 115 different sources and contains 440,380 records.
Open Textbook Collection
Open textbooks are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses that enable them to be freely used and adapted. Everyone can download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
- Pressbooks DirectoryPressbooks Directory provides an index of 5,095 books published across 144 Pressbooks networks.
- Open Textbook LibraryA collection of openly-licensed textbooks reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the University of Minnesota Center for Open Education and the Open Education Network.
- OpenstaxOpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University that publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
- LibreTextsLibreTexts is a leading, non-commercial open textbook organization initiated at the University of California, Davis. It provides an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of OER.
- B.C.Open CollectionThe B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of OER that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms.
- Open Book PublishersA leading independent open-access academic press that publishes peer-reviewed, award-winning monographs, edited collections, textbooks, critical translations, and more.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)All books listed in DOAB are freely accessible and, therefore, free to read. The usage rights of the books in DOAB are determined by the license. Generally, all books included in DOAB are available under a Creative Commons license.
OER Repositories
OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. Learning materials in these collections include full courses, syllabi, images, presentations, videos, simulations, and many more.
- OER CommonsA digital public library and collaboration platform launched by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME). OER Commons allows searching by material types, educational or grade levels, and subject disciplines.
- MERLOTThe Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.
- Open Course LibraryThe Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments, designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
- Teaching CommonsThe Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities in the U.S. Curated by librarians and their institutions, it includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
Subject-Specific Repositories
- Center for Open Educational Resources and Language LearningThe Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. Its mission is to produce and disseminate OER for the public.
- Noba ProjectExpertly compiled from Noba modules to fit the scope and sequence of common courses. Use them as-is or customize them to fit your needs. For many modules, instructor manuals, PowerPoint presentations, and test banks are available.
- PhET Interactive SimulationsThe PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. Based on extensive education research, PhET sims engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where they learn through exploration and discovery.
Finding Images and Photos
The sources listed here have images and photos that can be downloaded for free with no or limited restrictions.
- Wikimedia CommonsLarge searchable collection of images, sound files, and video clips that are either in the public domain or openly licensed. Each record contains information needed for citation.
- PexelsSearchable database of images, free to use, no attribution required, although it is best practice.
- OpenverseFormerly called Creative Commons Search, it is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be searched across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It aggregates results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.
- Google ImagesSearch keywords or even upload an image. Once you have your results, click the tools and use the "usage rights" drop-down to limit to "Creative Commons licenses." You may also limit by word, color, image size, image type, etc.
- PixabayProvides royalty-free photos and videos. Pictures are shared as part of the public domain with people worldwide.
- UnsplashMillions of free high-resolution images are created by the world’s most generous community of photographers.