Research Guides: Newspaper Sources: Home

Major US Newspapers

New York Times (1980-present)
This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.

Wall Street Journal
Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through the ProQuest database. It covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas.

Washington Post
Comprehensive coverage back to 1987 is available for one of America's most respected newspapers through the ProQuest database. Thousands of articles are available in the ASCII format.

Los Angeles Times
Full-text coverage of the LA times from 1985 to the present.

Chicago Tribune
Chicago Tribune access ranges from 1985 to the present. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Find Newspapers By Title

Search for a Newspaper
This search will tell you if we have access to a specific newspaper and where to find it.

Major News Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, culture, and history from over 240 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Both English and Spanish search interfaces are available.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva includes the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal and over 8,000 other magazines, newspapers, and trade journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.
New York Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic Universe) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Beginning in January 1, 2023, Copley Library now licenses these titles through Global Newsstream. Hyperlinks to the original five newspapers in US Major Dailies has not changed.

US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.