Research Guides: Music Research Resources: Citation and Copyright Tools

Music and Copyright

Music and Cultural Rights
Exploration of a broad range of issues relating to cultural policy and cultural rights. Examining the ramifications for music of the 1948 United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights regarding cultural representation, image management, minority-majority relationships, and legal rights.
Music Publishers' Association
The Copyright Resources Center provides a step-by-step guide to researching the copyright holder or publisher of a piece of music. It also provides forms for obtaining permission from the publisher to arrange a piece of music or make copies of out-of-print m

Citation Helpers

EndNote
ITS provides support for EndNote. If you need assistance, please contact the ITS Help Desk at help@sandiego.edu or call (619) 260-7900.
Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.
Bib me
BibMe is a free automatic bibliography generator that supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formatting. BibMe leverages databases provided by Amazon, FindArticles, Yahoo! News, and CiteULike to quickly and accurately AutoFill citation information for you
Citation Machine
Citation Machine is an interactive web tool designed to assist high school, college, and university students, their teachers, and independent researchers in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
EasyBib
The Automatic Bibliography & Citation Maker

Chicago Manual of Style Online

The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is a reference guide for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Chicago Notes and Bibliography style (also known as Chicago A) is commonly used in the humanities.

For quick reference for Turabian, take a look at Chicago's contents for Turabian.. Turabian is a simplified presentation of the Chicago Style, and includes great advice for writers at the undergraduate and graduate student levels. The contents of Kate Turabian's A Manual For Writers is available within the Chicago Manual of Style Online, under "Librarian, Teacher, & Student Resources," then "Students." You can also find the print manual in Copley, at the reference desk and on the shelves.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is another great source for quick, online access to citation information in Chicago Style.