Copley Library's Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Resources: Streaming Videos, Journals, and Databases

Primary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, and summary overviews covering historical and current experiences of Asian Americans in the United States

In the 1920s the Ku Klux Klan briefly reemerged from the Reconstruction period as a slick recruiting, marketing, and publishing engine. At its peak in 1924, Klan paid membership exceeded 4,000,000 and its national newspaper, the Imperial Night-Hawk, had a circulation larger than the New York Times. DWSO is a comprehensive collection of Klan and other white nationalist newspapers alongside newspapers published by Catholic, African-American, and Jewish organizations who rose to oppose the rising tide of hate and bigotry.

Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present

American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.

From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history.This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life--as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent via Black-owned newspapers and mainstream publications.

Calisphere is a gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections that provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover digital collections of over 400,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.

Provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development and census data at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels. Includes the following databases: (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer).

News, culture, and history from over 240 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Both English and Spanish search interfaces are available.

This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life -- as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The content in HLA is sourced from more than 17,000 American and global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications. [The database covers] from the early 18th century to the early 21st -- from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era. HLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science and technology, and society and culture.

This collection of primary and secondary source materials offers access to comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide, from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes multiple media formats and content types for each selected event or human rights theme, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects. Resources for each theme or event guide users through the full scope of the event, from the historical context that made such violations possible through the international response, prosecution of perpetrators, and steps toward rebuilding. The collection will continue to grow to include 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video.

Justice in Mexico works to improve citizen security, strengthen the rule of law, and protect human rights in Mexico. We generate cutting edge research, promote informed dialogue, and work to find solutions to address these enormously complex issues. As a U.S.-based initiative, our program partners with key stakeholders, experts, and decision makers, lending international support to help analyze the challenges at hand, build consensus about how to resolve them, and foster policies and programs that can bring about change.

A full-text news and information database on political, social, and economic issues in Latin America. Note: As of 2018, LADB is archival only and no longer producing new content.

LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.

LGBTQ+ Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 140 full-text monographs and books.

Music Online: Listening is a comprehensive audio collection providing coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres: American, Classical, Smithsonian Global Sound, Jazz, Popular, and Contemporary World. Browsing can be done by collections or subjects, and searching can be done in each individual collection or through multiple collections at once.

The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today’s vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources intended for inclusion will be broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from the conservative to the anarchist.