Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar allows you to search the web for a variety of written work from a variety of academic sources. You can set up the Scholar Preferences to show in your results when an item is available through USD; follow the Scholar Preferences link to the Library Links section on the page. When you access Google Scholar through the link below, that preference is already set.
Key Electronic Resources
Use the databases below for finding scholarship, popular articles, film reviews, and other materials.
Screen Studies This link opens in a new window
Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support moving-image studies.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
A performing arts journal resource with over 465,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, film, drama, and theater.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA (Modern Language Abstracts) lists journal articles and a variety of other types of materials on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source was developed from a merger of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts. It offers abstracts and indexing for more than 1,000 core titles as well as over 670 full-text journals dating back to 1900. In addition, the database features a subject-specific thesaurus.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic Universe) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic Universe) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
New York Times (1980-Present) This link opens in a new window
This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
New York Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007)
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the LA times from 1985 to the present.