Journals & Articles
When you search for a topic in our databases you'll get a list of citations. These citations usually refer to articles appearing in journals, magazines and newspapers.
Sometimes the article will be available as full-text in the database. If not available as full text, you'll need to note the information about the article (author, title, journal title, volume, date, page numbers).
Then, check our Catalog to see whether we have the journal either in our stacks or through a different online source.
If we do not subscribe to the journal where your article appears, you can use our Interlibrary Loan Service to request a copy of the article you need.
Environmental Databases
- GreenFile This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- Waters & Oceans Worldwide This link opens in a new windowWaters & Oceans Worldwide combines databases on all facets of international water research. With excellent world coverage, this database includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment. With over 1,854,600 citations and abstracts dating back to the 1970s, this resource is essential for those dealing with all aspects of water and water-related subjects.
Sociology Databases
These databases have a focus on sociological topics.
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from over 1,700 of the world’s leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
- Public Affairs International Service (PAIS) This link opens in a new windowReferences to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, culture, and history from over 240 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Both English and Spanish search interfaces are available.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowThe American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From Pre-contact to the present day, from the Inuit of the nor
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
- Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
General Databases
These databases include entries on a wide variety of subjects. Many contain journals with full text articles.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 2,940 scholarly publications including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
The Premier package provides access to virtually all of the SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from over 400 journals including: agricultural & biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics & molecular biology, chemistry, earth & planetary sciences, medicine, and social science.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 1,500 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 250 journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, medicine, physical and life sciences.