Cambridge Companions Online Addressing topics and figures as diverse as Gothic Fiction and Arabic Philosophy, WB Yeats and Martin Luther, the online collection contains over 2,200 downloadable essays, taken from 237 Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics (144 volumes) and Philosophy, Religion and Culture (93 volumes).
Credo Reference A digital reference library containing hundreds of high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers. Credo offers access to millions of individual entries and contains all types of reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. It also includes thousands of images and audio files, together with subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to astronomy and science to Shakespeare.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy A fully searchable and extensively cross-referenced dynamic Web version of the original encyclopedia. Includes more than 2000 articles covering Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Routledge Religion Online Provides online access to the best reference titles on Religion in a single fully searchable and extensively cross-referenced resource. With some 14,000 pages of content, this site comprises thousands of authoritative, signed articles on world religions, the sociology of religion, and the history of religion.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. The integration of authoritative scholarly texts and reference works has tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible. Texts from selected Oxford Bibles can be viewed in side-by-side display with the user's choice of commentary and annotations from the Study Bibles, the stand-alone Oxford Bible Commentary, and A-Z concordances for the NRSV and NAB translations. The Bible content is supplemented by collections of major apocryphal Old and New Testament texts in translation.\n\nIn addition to the Bible texts, Oxford Biblical Studies Online offers quick access to over 5,000 A-Z entries from the Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls, Oxford Companion to the Bible, and a number of other Oxford references. Users can easily navigate to hundreds of topical essays within the Oxford study Bibles themselves, in The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies, The Oxford History of the Biblical World, The Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible, Oxford Bible Atlas, and other works, and access hundreds of searchable images and maps from these major scholarly publications.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The nearly eleven hundred articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths.
Oxford Scholarship Online A groundbreaking online resource, combining OUP's core scholarly books in four disciplines (Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion and Theology) and powerful research tools into one cross-indexed, fully searchable database. With 926 classic and newly published titles now available, OSO will be updated quarterly with an additional 200 titles added each year.
There are many Theolgoy and Religious Studies reference sources in the Reference Stacks at Copley Library, and they are all shelved together. There are also many sources in the Copley Library Book Stacks. You can locate these reference sources in print by searching the catalog. Use search terms that include a topic and a type of reference source, such as Religion + Encyclopedia.
Below is a selection of general reference sources for the study of religion:
The Encyclopedia of the Bible Copley Library Book Stacks BS440 .E453
Encyclopedia of African religion v.1-2 Copley Library Reference BL2400 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of religion v.1-15 Copley Library Reference BL31 .E46 2005
A dictionary of philosophy of religion Copley Library Reference BL51 .T36 2010
The complete Bible handbook Copley Library Reference BS475.2 .B69 1998
The Eerdmans analytical concordance to the Revised Standard Version of the Bible Copley Library Reference BS425 .W48 1988